CARAMELIZED ONIONS : Check out my way of doing it!

This is surely one of the most favorite garnish of all foodies out there...

Having a burger without caramelized onions is simply a NO from my side, what about you friends!?

Some like it well caramelized and soft while others love it still crunchy...

Let me show you how I do mine at my restaurant, hope you like it!

CARAMELIZED ONIONS!!!

3w72119s5bjwmgm4xa2mvd5at2bjssa8f9wec71v1s1fkfgkk9mmkuc3lcvf4kigbwg9usrpepgghqxsi2jxwivvvushxqdupkgptschmaa8cv9bjfmeby.jpg


So many versions exists...be creative and make your own signature one!!!

Making caramelized onions is actually quite easy and you need only couple of basic ingredients!

You can do so many different versions of caramelized onions, you just have to know what taste you want to get in the end of the caramelisation!!

After doing quite of different versions the last 20 years, I have finally found my signature one...as usual very simple to do and tasty for sure!

So let me show you briefly how I do it at my restaurant! It is used on the rounders/burgers I serve there!

3w72119s5bjwmgm4xa2mvd5at2bjssa8f9wec71v1s1fkfgkk9mmkuc3lcvf4kigbwg9usrpepgghqxvhanfkfp4zhmpyzlvrmp6gzboh4bnntpbup4jre.jpg


I simply sweat my onions in little butter and olive oil!

For me, red onions are the best for this recipe, though you can use white ones too!

3w72119s5bjwmgm4xa2mvd5at2bjssa8f9wec71v1s1fkfgkk9mmkuc3lcvf4kigbwg9usrpepgghqxvhmp8ccjqnwf2fe1draccdztnkmxeqcnbkx57u8.jpg


While the onions are cooking, add chicken stock little by little and let cook for about 30 minutes!

After 30 minutes of cooking, add some fresh thyme and whole garlic cloves to the onions! These 2 will give a beautiful flavor to the onion!

3w72119s5bjwmgm4xa2mvd5at2bjssa8f9wec71v1s1fkfgkk9mmkuc3lcvf4kigbwg9usrpepgghqxvjwmjnrzctwk1vzy1u6jufp5f2cr1t7rqdsnghl.jpg


When you see the onions drying up, keep adding some more chicken stock and cook for further 30 minutes until you start noticing the natural caramelization happening...

As onions are naturally sweet, and as caramel forms from cooking sugar, when onions are cooked for such long period, the natural sugars of onions start to caramelize making it something very intense and wonderful in flavor!

Plus here you also have the reduction of chicken stock giving even more flavor to the caramelized onion!

3w72119s5bjwmgm4xa2mvd5at2bjssa8f9wec71v1s1fkfgkk9mmkuc3lcvf4kigbwg9usrpepgghqxsi2jxwivvvushxqdupkgptschmaa8cv9bjfmeby.jpg


You can add some more butter if you wish and season with salt or sugar or even honey depending on your taste!
I simply add little rock salt and it was ready to be enjoyed!

Many people add a lot of sugar to accelerate the process while others add different spices/herbs etc... As I mentioned above...It all depends on what taste you want to get!

So this is how I make my signature caramelized onions in my bistro!

3w72119s5bjwmgm4xa2mvd5at2bjssa8f9wec71v1s1fkfgkk9mmkuc3lcvf4kigbwg9usrpepgghqxvmwspeeqynom5ifzbmk5pqutvrjaqekqe5szcky.jpg


Having a big spoon on caramelized onions in my burger is what makes my it complete...without it...the burger is really not the same!

And how do you make your caramelized onions friends!?

Do you have any secret that you wish to share with us!?

Kindly share yours in the comment section below!

I hope you enjoyed this post of mine!

Thanks so much everyone for reading my post and supporting me!
Wish you all a lovely day/evening ahead!
@progressivechef
hive_11_.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency