Homemade Banana Chips - 3 variations

From one of my local friends, I receive a lot of fruit and veggies. It's always a big challenge to find ways to prepare everything. Because of Covid I'm separated from my hubby since begin February, and my friend promised my hubby to take care of me and look after me. So good to know what real friendship is.

IMG_20200815_093040 copy.jpg

Anyway, I do end up with a lot of stuff. Although she's a local with a big family she always thinks of me. Last week I had more than 10 bananas! So I really needed to find ways to make sure I didn't had to throw things away. 2 days ago I already made ice cream. But I cannot keep on making ice cream all the time. Here you can find a recipe for easy, healthy ice cream: @positive-mind/healthy-ice-cream-with-local-products-hive-120586

IMG_20200825_121418.jpg

So I started to experiment with making banana chips. It's a very healthy snack if you make it yourself. My mom told me she saw a recipe to make it with salt and cinnamon. That was yummy! And so easy. Just cut the banana in thin slices, put the salt and cinnamon on it, and put them in the Airfryer for 1 hour on 80 degrees C.
IMG_20200825_121726.jpg

The second batch I made was a bit different. This time I used salt, black pepper and garlic powder. This was even better. When I use the spices I like to ground them with a pepper mill. For the salt I used Himalayan salt, but you can use any coarse salt. This was even better!
IMG_20200825_140253.jpg

Now the third batch ... What shall I try now? I looked at my spices and I picked out the curry powder. Banana and curry goes well together, so I couldn't go wrong with this one.

My favorite is number two ... the salt - black pepper and garlic. But I will keep on trying new combinations 😃

For those who don't have an airfryer, you can make this also in a traditional oven or food dehydrator. In the oven it takes longer. Heat the oven up to 90 degrees C and bake the banana slices for one hour. Then turn them around and continue for another 40 minutes. In the Airfryer you don't have to turn the chips.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency