ABOUT LAST NIGHT: How I Made My Yamarita And Vegetables With Egg

White and Teal Retail Sale Coffee Photo Collage.png

Edited Using Canva

After a very long and stressful day yesterday, I came back home asking myself what I will be having for dinner. I was so tired yesterday but I'm happy I was still able to visit the market after the whole stress from my day's work. Still contemplating on what to eat, I finally settled for fried yam and vegetables mixed with eggs. But I don't want the regular type of fried yam, so I made my fried yam in the most creative way (don't worry, you'd like it) ☺️☺️. Folks that understand me are quite aware that normal feels so boring for me, I love having the best time of my life in the most creative way you can ever imagined. I concluded I will be having fun with this one, even though I was very hunger, I still don't want the regular boiled yam and vegetables or the regular way of frying yams, I wanted something different, so I went for one of my favourite ways of frying yams.

The beautiful thing about this meal is, the ingredients are easy to find. Just the usual stuffs, the only difference is that, you will be putting them to use in a more unique form. And, no matter how hungry you are, this wouldn't take the whole day to prepare, it's that easy. To the guys, it's one thing to be a bachelor that's doing well financially and another thing to be a bachelor that can actually cook.

Let me tell you guys a secret, bring your ears closer to the screen of your device, promise you wouldn't tell anyone okay? So, my cooking has always been my biggest way to getting a ladies best side, I like a lady that can eat, so I can surprise her once in while with some of my creative cookings. That doesn't mean I don't go through the stress of telling her how I feel, I do, but the food always finalize everything, trust me when I say, no lady want to be a slave to a man, sometimes they want some really good treat and I know how.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Remember not to tell anyone okay? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Okay, let's get back to the cooking, here are the ingredients you will be needing if you want to try this out. Last night's meal was not planned for so I had to use what I have in my kitchen but I will still share my original recipe with you regardless.


Yamarita Ingredients

🐝 Yam
🐝 Egg
🐝 Flour
🐝 Milk Powder (Optional)
🐝 Sugar
🐝 Cooking Oil
🐝 Cayenne Pepper (Dried grinded cayenne pepper)
🐝 Seasoning Cube
🐝 Curry Powder
🐝 Garlic Powder (Optional)
🐝 Thyme (Optional)
🐝 Salt

The Making Of My Yamarita

The first thing you need to do is to cut your yams. While cutting those yams, cut them in rectangular shapes, I honestly did not do that yesterday, I was too hungry to do that. But days where I have to give someone or even people a treat, I take my time to cut every yam in rectangular shapes. After cutting those yams, put them in your pot and add some water, some sugar (yes, you read that correctly, deep those hands in that sugar container, put enough in the water you are about to use to boil your yams, this provide the yam with a very sweet taste) and also put a pinch of salt in that water. Put the yam on fire and allow it to soften a little.

IMG_20210717_180833.jpg

Cut and put your yam on fire, boil the yam with some sugar and salt


While you are waiting for the yam to soften, put some flour in a small bowl about three teaspoon, add some powder milk (like I said, this is optional, but I still used the milk in mine though) and some sugar in it. Mix them together. Also, in another small bowl, crack one egg, add some amount of cayenne pepper in it, some curry powder and also put very little amount of seasoning cube with a pinch of salt and mix everything together. Note that, if you plan on using some garlic powder and some thyme, you can also mix it with the egg, but I didn't use that for this particular dish.

IMG_20210717_181955.jpgIMG_20210717_181522.jpg

Mix your flour with some sugar and milk. Also mix your crack eggs with whatever seasoning that you prefer, get creative.


Once that yam is ready, remove the water. This next part will take your time especially if you plan to make yamarita for a large number of persons, so what I will advice is this, while doing this part, put enough oil in your frying pan and put it on fire so it get warm enough. Now, this is what you need to do, take one cut yam, and deep it inside your mixed flour already, make sure you rub the body of the yam with enough flour. Repeat this again for all the yams. By now your oil should be warm enough and ready for some deep frying.

IMG_20210717_183638.jpgIMG_20210717_184231.jpgIMG_20210717_184555.jpg

Once the yam is a bit soft, filter the water. Take it one yam at a time, dip it into the flour, do it for all the yams.

You don't just fry, before you throw those yams in the frying pan, this is what you have to do, take one yam, deep it in the mixed egg already, this will make the flour stick to the yam very well and after you fry, you will get a very fine looking brown yam. Make sure the heat of your stove or cooker is on minimum level, you don't want to burn those Yamarita now. πŸ˜‚ Now, once you've deep a yam in the mixed egg, put it in your oil to fry, repeat this for the other yams so you can have enough yams inside your frying pan frying at once.

IMG_20210717_184645.jpgIMG_20210717_184749.jpg

Now dip it one yam at a time into the egg mixture, and then put it in your frying pan. Put enough yam in the pan so they can fry at the same time.


You see how easy it is to make your Yamarita? On a very special day though, when I feel like surprising someone or myself πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, I normally mix some scotch bonnet Pepper in that mixed egg, it has this unique look it gives to the Yamarita after frying. Now that we are done frying the Yamarita, let's make my vegetables mixed with eggs.

Please note that, you have other things you can use to eat your Yamarita, sometimes I use pepper sauce (oops, by now you should know I like pepperπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚), other times I make scramble eggs, you can even eat it with vegetable stew (by the way, I also made vegetable stew last night, I was too lazy to snap pictures after eating πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚). But for this particular dish, I just settled for fried vegetables mixed with eggs.


Fried Vegetables With Egg Ingredients

🐝 Fluted Pumpkin (Ugu leaf πŸ˜‚)
🐝 Egg
🐝 Onions
🐝 Scotch Bonnet Pepper (I did not use it for this dish, because I didn't plan for it, but I always use it as part of my recipe)
🐝 Cayenne Pepper ( The grinded cayenne pepper is what I used for this particular dish)
🐝 Cooking Oil
🐝 Curry Powder
🐝 Thyme
🐝 Seasoning Cube
🐝 Salt to taste.

The Making Of The Fried Vegetables With Egg

One thing about my cooking is, before I start, I always prepare everything I will be needing to save me time. My vegetables where already ready for use, I have cut them. I put my oil in the frying pan and put it on fire allowing to warm before frying. While I was waiting, I cracked open another egg and put some grinded pepper, a pinch of salt and also cut some onions.

IMG_20210717_190709.jpgIMG_20210717_184015.jpgIMG_20210717_190759.jpgIMG_20210717_191230.jpg

Cut your fluted pumpkin, pot some oil in your frying pan and allow it to warm, crack your egg and mix with seasonings,and cut your onions.

As soon as my oil becomes warm enough, I put in my Onions, I really love it when it sizzles 😜😜, the sound of it sizzling makes me smile πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ (I love food, and I love that I can cook themπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚), I allow the onions fry for a while, then I put some grinded pepper, some curry powder, thyme, seasoning cube, some salt ( if I had used Scotch Bonnet Pepper, this is the part I would have put it to fry for a while), after putting these things, I allow it fry for some time.

IMG_20210717_191344.jpgIMG_20210717_191629~2.jpgIMG_20210717_192021~2.jpg

Fry the onions, put your pepper, your seasoning cube, your curry and your thyme. Also fry the leaves and lastly, pour your mixed egg in it and fry all together.

The next thing is to put my sliced fluted pumpkin in the frying pan. Now you have to keep mixing so that every leaf will fry very well. Once the leaf is ready, pour the mixed egg into it and keep on mixing same way you make your scrambled eggs. Continue mixing the leaf and the egg together, until you noticed the eggs are no longer in liquid form. Allow it to fry for a while, you vegetables and egg is ready.


You see how easy it is to make this dish right? Well, once you are done, you can go ahead to serve the meal, have it with some wine or juice if that's what you like. I had mine yesterday with a glass of milk ☺️☺️. Sometimes, just take out time and give yourself a treat, we all need it, I work six days in a week, from that Saturday evening to Sunday evening is the only time I have to rest very well, if I can't go out with friends, I spoil myself with a very lovely meal. I can't be working hard and not take out time to give myself a little treat.

IMG_20210717_193225.jpgIMG_20210717_200043.jpg

Food is ready, it's time to eat, make sure you watch a movie while you eat, just enjoy yourself and relax a bit. You need it, we all do.

By the way, while I was eating my meal, I took out time to rewatch the movie CRUELLA, it's a 2021 movie and I think y'all should go and see it, you will love the movie. This is the third time I'm seeing the movie, that's to say it's very interesting.Thanks for being an amazing reader, I hope you enjoyed reading this? By the way, if you get to try this out, make sure you make a post and tag me to it, I would love to read about your experience. Make sure you enjoy your day today and stay happy.

Thanks for reading!

Note: All images were taken with my Nokia 3.2 Android phone.

Thanks For Visiting My Blog!

facebook.pnginstagram.pngtwitter.pngwhatsapp.png
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency