Try Putu Ayu Ice Cream from McDonald's in Indonesia

Some time ago, I went to the office. Of course, I met my friends. Meeting friends is actually the most fun thing during the covid-19 pandemic. Because I've been working at home for weeks. Almost 3 months I work at home, it's quite boring.

---

The most fun I have with friends at work is eating or food. In the afternoon, when we finished all the work, we often gathered together. Say things to each other. Of course, sharing stories requires something to eat. There's one franchise we like, McDonald's. We often order these while telling each other everything. before the pandemic, in a week we often ordered food 2 times a week.

IMG_20210816_121312.jpg

IMG_20210816_120131.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



Putu Ayu Ice Cream

This food is very practical. It's very easy to enjoy. Last week, there was a lot of food that we ordered. There's rice, fried chicken, burgers, fries and ice cream. I ordered ice cream. Towards Indonesia's independence day, McDonald's issued several Indonesian specialties. Among other things, burgers with rendang flavor, ice cream with putu ayu flavor and ice cream with es doger flavor.

---

I ordered ice cream with a putu ayu flavor. Ayu putu is actually one of the typical Indonesian cakes, namely Central Java. This dish is, of course, my favorite dish. I just wanted to know what it would taste like if it was made into ice cream. I was a little disappointed when I got the taste of this ice cream. Because I don't get the pandan flavor that is the hallmark of putu ayu cake. I only get the scent. And the coconut flavor that comes from the ice cream topping. Maybe that's all the latest taste review.

IMG_20210816_115856.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



Sarinah Outlet is The First McDonald's Outlet in Indonesia

It reminded me of the McDonald's outlet in Sarinah which closed last year. One day before closing, there were a lot of people buying food at this outlet. For me, Nothing special about this food. However, the McDonald's outlet in Sarinah (Jakarta) is the first McDonald's outlet in Indonesia. Some people feel they have memories in this place. Since I have no memories of this place, I feel that the closure of the place has become a common thing.

---

That's how the Indonesian people live in memory. But I won't comment on that. I just want to let you know that this McDonald's food is very popular in Indonesia. Every new menu from this place is always sought after. sometimes, this new food menu becomes very rare. From children to adults. It seems easy to accept this food. Everyone loves fried chicken and fries.

IMG_20210816_120043.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



The History of McDonald's

I want to tell a little about the history of this place. Fast food was pioneered by the McDonald brothers. What you should also know, this outlet is the largest outlet in the world. One of America's most famous newspapers wrote when McDonald's was founded in California, United States, in 1948. Their flagship product was a burger called the bigmac.

---

Richard McDonal with his brother Maurice revolutionized the burger. They change the food quickly and have affordable prices. Both became the basis of fast food. I am quite amazed by their idea. I think Indonesia just entered independence that year.

---

The idea of ​​these two brothers did not just come. They were born to poor families in rural New Hampshire. Then they migrated to California in 1920. They were both determined to make $1 million before they turned 50. What about their education?

IMG_20210816_120012.jpg

IMG_20210816_115529.jpg

Picrure by Nurdiani Latifah

All they had was a high school diploma. But they do a lot of odd jobs to make their dreams come true. Including the film business which later failed. Ten years later they both opened a hot dog shop near the Santa Anita track in Arcadia, California. 10 years later, they opened a small barberque drive in San Bernardino.

---

Their business started to grow. But they again think they can do better by producing something faster. In the fall of 1948, they closed the restaurant, lowered the menu and began to reinvent the way food is run. The results can be felt today. They created this business. McDonald's has more than 23,000 yards in 111 countries with sales of more than $33 billion.

IMG_20210816_121305.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



Bonus Picture

IMG_20210816_121314.jpg

IMG_20210816_120130.jpg

IMG_20210816_115527.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency