Try Hainanese Chicken Rice, Singapore's National Food

It's my first time to try Hainanese chicken rice. I bought it in one of the online applications. You can also see the latest reviews or promos on their social media, @hainambowls. I ordered several different menus. I ordered several menus.

I ordered several menus, including Hainam Chicken Roasted, Hainam Steam Chicken and Dumpling. There are some for sale in this place, there is trust and team rice. Oh yes, I forgot there is also crispy chicken and dumplings here. You can order it. The thing that interests me is the rice. The rice tasted very flat but the rice could be too mushy. I don't like rice that is too soft.

hainam 2.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



I really like the texture of the chicken. Very soft. But, I'm a bit weird with soy sauce. Maybe I prefer sweet soy sauce over soy sauce. So, adding soy sauce bothers me a bit. So is the sauce, too runny. According to my friend who lives in Thailand, the chili for Hainanese chicken is very good. I think I should try this kind of food somewhere else.

I forgot to mention the price of this food for a rice bowl for IDR 30,000. For me, this food is neither too expensive nor cheap. Moreover, the pieces of chicken from each bowl are quite a lot and large. I think customers are very profitable. For other menus, there is a special hainam mix at a price of Rp. 45,000. The portion looks big. Maybe enough for two people.

hainam 3.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



When visiting Singapore, this food may be easy to find. Yes, this food is the national food of Singapore. You need to know, if this food comes from China. As the name suggests, this food comes from Hainan Island, China. On the island, people often cook chicken with a distinctive taste. They already call this food Hainanese. Complete with rice as a staple when eating chicken.

However, residents of Hainan Island immigrated to places in Southeast Asia. Such as Singapore, Malaysia, and Thailand. The inhabitants of Hainan Island have migrated for 150 years. Hainan Islands who migrate, always try to cook Hainanese chicken rice with ingredients in their respective places. that's the story why this food can be found in Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand

hainam 4.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



Nasi Ayam was adapted from a menu called Wen Chang Chicken. The chicken will be cooked in boiling water. This is done to keep the texture of the chicken soft and tender. For Hainan Island, cooked chicken is not deliberately raised chicken. But, the chickens run free. In Indonesia, this chicken is called "Ayam Kampung".

This free-roaming chicken has a lean and not fat body. But, when it is cooked, the texture will be very soft. Likewise with chicken skin, it looks very beautiful. Seriously, this food is really good. I have to look for this food elsewhere.

IMG_20210929_160049.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



IMG_20210929_160106.jpg

IMG_20210929_160147.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah

IMG_20210929_160053.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency