The lunch and Birthday Celebrations of The Staff At Where I Work

Two weeks ago, I had a friend's birthday at my place of work. There were four people's birthdays. There is a tradition that is required when the staff has a birthday party. Make some yellow rice and pray together. There's a meaning to the yellow rice. And there was a prayer for my birthday friends.

IMG_20210831_120153.jpg

IMG_20210831_120157.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah

We said a prayer at lunch together. For me, lunch is the most sacred place. Where everyone gathered, talking to each other without regard for position. We're free to talk about anything at the dinner table. For me, this lunch is glorious lunch. The prayer began with the prayer of my director, manager until staf. And we say the best prayer anyone has to offer.

IMG_20210831_120208.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



We also bought birthday cake. We eat birthday cake after lunch. This year is a very meaningful celebration. I've worked for 2 years. Last year, I purposely didn't tell you my birthday. This year, my manager remembered my birthday. In fact, this year I forgot my birthday.

IMG_20210831_120215.jpg

IMG_20210831_120244.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah

Even though I forgot my birthday, for me it was a very solemn celebration. There are many kind prayers that I receive from my friends. Moreover, I returned to eating yellow rice. For me, yellow rice is the most meaningful food. Because my mom always cooks this for my birthday. In Indonesia, yellow rice is often used as breakfast. But, I never have breakfast with yellow rice (you can call "Nasi Kuning")

IMG_20210831_121147.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



At Nasi kuning, I learned about diversity. In one plate, there are many types of food that can be eaten. In fact, all cooked foods are complicated to cook. Besides yellow rice, there are fried chicken, fried eggs, corn curlers, urab, tempeh orek and cob balado. All these complex foods are cooked.

IMG_20210831_121648.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



Nasi Kuning of rice in Indonesian tradition symbolizes gold which means wealth. Nasi Kunung is often shaped like a mountain triangle or "Tumpeng". Tumpeng symbolizes the golden mountain, prosperity of life, and high morale. With the presence of yellow rice in the celebration, it is hoped that it will bring great blessings and fortune. And given a life of wealth and riches. Therefore, yellow rice in the form of a sprinkling is often a sacred main dish.

IMG_20210831_121657.jpg

IMG_20210831_121700.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah

About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency