Oatmeal Churros, Easy and Simple Ingredients

Some time ago I made churros. But indeed I can't shape food well, so the food is not like what you find on google or in cafes. I can only cook this year. During this pandemic, I learned a lot about cooking. Quite a lot of food that I cook myself. In 2019, I can only cook instant noodles and water. In 2020, I can only cook fried rice. In this year, if you pay attention to my blog, there are many foods that I cook

---

Currently, in some countries churros are often used as snacks. You can easily find this food on the side of the road. If your place has Street Food, you can find this food. Churros, however, are also often served as breakfast served in hot chocolate or served at Cafe con leche. Cafe con leche is a typical Spanish coffee mixed with hot milk.


Picture by Kompas.com

(https://travel.kompas.com/read/2020/04/25/081300127/sejarah-churros-konon-terinspirasi-cakue-di-china?page=all)


There are Many Versions of the Churros' Story

Last week, I made churros. Before I share the recipe I made. I want to tell you a little bit about churros. No one really knows where the food came from. In fact, there are 3 different versions of the story about churros. The first version, churros originated in Spain. It was first made by shepherds living in the highlands to replace bread. He made churros due to difficulty accessing the bakery. This causes the churros to form like sheep's horns. Over time, the recipe developed among the shepherds, making it very easy.

--- ​

The second version says that churros were the first to be made in China. There the food was first known as "You Tiao". That is, fried brown bread. The taste of this cake is salty. Still, I think the food is cakwe. Despite the story, it is a staple of both Spain and Latin America.

IMG_20210817_210650.jpg

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah
In addition to the two versions, there are others. there is a third version mentioning Portuguese sailors who found food similar to churros in northern China. the food is called "you tiao." In Indonesia, "you tiao" is known as cakwe. The sailors found "you tiao" and took it with them. The Spaniards learned this and later changed their recipe by printing the ends of these food sections. That is the origin of the distinctive shape of churros.

--- ​

Whether Spanish shepherds, Portuguese or Chinese sailors invented churros. However, it was European colonizers who introduced churros to Latin America. Since then, the churros we know today have undergone many changes. Including churros with guava filling in Cuba, churros with "dulce DE leche" in Mexico and versions of churros with cheese in Uruguay.

IMG_20210817_211249.jpg

​Picture by Nurdiani Latifah


Regarding the form of this food, it has also undergone many changes. It has churros with straight or spiral lines. With or without cinnamon powder and dulla, dipped in chocolate or eaten plain. One thing I believe in churros is good food. You must try this food. That's how the story goes. Next, I will prescribe this food. I made it a little different. I use oatmeal. It is also very easy to find around you. You can try it at home.

IMG_20210817_213108.jpg


Ingredient Needed

1#. Oatmeal, use in moderation.

2#. Butter, I used two tablespoons

3#. 1 egg

4#. Sugar, to taste

5#. Hot water

6#. Salt, a little

IMG_20210817_213106.jpg

​Picture by Nurdiani Latifah


How to Create

1#. Puree the oatmeal used. I use six tablespoons of oatmeal. And I use a portable blender to make it smooth.

2#. Melt the butter to be used.

3#. heat the water

4#. Mix all the ingredients to be used. Once the dough is well mixed, you are free to make the shape of the churros you want. I made it like in the picture

IMG_20210817_213056.jpg

​Picture by Nurdiani Latifah


5#. Heat the oil to be used. Then, fry the ingredients that you have printed. You are free to shape the churros, however you want. I formed the churros as in the picture.

6#. Fry until cooked and remove. Fry all ingredients until done.

7#. I added chocolates to add churros

8#. Churros can be enjoyed with hot tea or coffee. I'm sure when you see the shape of the churros that I made, you feel weird looking at it. but believe me the churros i make are really good

IMG_20210817_213100.jpg

​Picture by Nurdiani Latifah



Knowing the Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency