My First Experience Trying Soto Kudus

Some time ago, I went to Cirebon to visit one of the Islamic boarding schools. I took a break first in the rest area. I bought Soto which came from Kudus. This is my first time buying Soto Kudus. The gravy is clear, but rich with Indonesian spices. It's so good, this Soto can keep you warm all the way.

IMG_20210905_203239.jpg

IMG_20210905_203244 (1).jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah

For me, this Soto has a small portion. If you have a large enough meal, you can order two bowls. The soup I bought was served in a small bowl with bean sprouts and shredded chicken. I also added “Perkedel Kentang”. The soup that I bought also added a little soy sauce and lime. I didn't add sambal, for me the chili would spoil the taste of Soto. I also added rice to a separate plate. I prefer the Soto which is separated from the rice. The food is very simple. But did you know that these foods have a special meaning?

IMG_20210905_200118.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



The name "Soto" comes from the Chinese word "Caudo." Caudo was first introduced in the city of Semarang. Then gradually the name caudo changed to soto with Indonesian flavors and flavors. Some Soto in Indonesia, using noodles, soun or vermicelli. This is an adjustment to the tastes of the Indonesian people.

IMG_20210905_195501.jpg

IMG_20210905_195634.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah

For Soto, which comes from Kudus, it actually uses buffalo meat. because of the times, in the presentation of buffalo meat which is usually used is replaced with chicken. In Indonesia, Soto Kudus is the only soto that uses buffalo meat. Usually soto in Indonesia uses chicken or beef. For me, Soto Kudus is very unique. You need to know this food.

IMG_20210905_195538.jpg

IMG_20210905_195621.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah

In ancient times, Saints were forbidden to eat beef. So they replaced it with buffalo meat. According to the story I got, the spread of Islam in Indonesia was brought by 9 Sunan. One of them is Sunan Kudus who spread Islam in Kudus. Sunan Kudus spread Islam to people who embraced Hinduism and Buddhism in a unique way.

IMG_20210905_195621.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



In the past, Hindu and Buddhist communities had a prohibition on eating beef. Because the cow is one of the most sacred animals. That's what happened until now, people in Kudus don't eat beef. So, Soto from Kudus replaced beef with buffalo meat.

IMG_20210905_195652.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



However, I ordered Soto with chicken. In the area of ​​origin, it is served with rice, soun, bean sprouts, sliced ​​green beans, soybeans, celery and fried onions. They are doused with buffalo broth that has been given spices. Such as cloves, cinnamon and candlenut. For those of you who like a sour taste, you can add lemon. In addition, you add foods such as quail egg satay, fried tempeh, fried tofu and buffalo lung.

IMG_20210905_195930.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah



Because it uses buffalo meat, usually the cooking method is slightly different. The buffalo meat is then boiled to get a soft texture and a rancid smell on the buffalo meat. Usually, when boiling buffalo meat, you can add lime. Soto Kudus is now a mandatory food at weddings and circumcisions.

IMG_20210905_195652.jpg

IMG_20210905_195743.jpg

Picture By Nurdiani Latifah

About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency