Taste of planet event in Novi Sad, Serbia - Today's country: Japan

Hello everyone! It was another day of Taste of planet event in Novi Sad, where each day of the manifestation a different country get to present their food together with additional cultural program. Today was Japan's turn!


247476492_4185755284886168_8004258708470436805_n.jpg

My friend (on the left) and I taking a selfie at the event... Happy faces despite the rain!



Unfortunately, today was a rainy day so additional program got cancelled and we only got a chance to have food tasting experience. Food was made by the chef of the Japanese ambassador here in Serbia which was pretty cool.


3.jpg

Of course, sushi was on the menu as the most known Japanese dish. It wasn't my first time trying sushi but I had it for the first time with wasabi which was too strong for me so for my second sushi roll, I skipped wasabi. :D I really liked the sushi though.


4.jpg

I'm not sure what this is, to be honest, I didn't remember the name of the dish but it was so good, probably my favorite I have tried today! It's like a soup with meat and veggies, but the flavor of it was so nice and totally different to Serbian dishes of this kind. I feel like the Asian cuisine in general has different flavors and spices that makes it unique and gives it a delicious taste! So far I am a big fan of all the Asian food I had chance to try.


5.jpg

Finally, the one I have been waiting for so long to try - mochi!! I have seen this on the internet a lot, I've watched videos on how it's made and even the video that got me into K-pop is the one where James Corden calls BTS' Jimin a 'baby mochi' (BTS carpool karaoke). I was always curious about the texture of mochi and even though it was unusual for me, I really liked it and I would love to try more flavors!


6.jpg

While me and my friend were eating our food and chatting, people kept coming in for food tasting. Too bad the weather was bad, I think more people would come. Despite the rain and today's short event, I really enjoyed it!


Tomorrow is the last day of the Taste of planet event and Mexico will get a chance to present their food and hopefully an additional program as it's suppose to be a nicer weather, without rain. I hope Japan will have more luck next time as I was very curious to see what else they have prepared other than food. However, I still enjoyed trying out Japanese food and spending time with my friend. :)


banner.png

Photos are mine taken with Samsung Galaxy S Edge

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency