Tabbouleh Salad and Hummus Greek Platter

Hey guys,

This is my first post in this community! Nice to meet you, all foodies around the world!

Before being a mom, I was posting about food and health, so it's not wonder that I keep blogging about these topics from time to time. Maybe I'll do it more often because I am still a foodie and I care about health and nutrition, I like to cook healthy meals BUT.....motherhood with small children it's not quite paradise when we talk about time...literary, toddlers will eat your time! and mine too :p

But I keep cooking at home, try new recipes and believe me, I used before to photograph many dishes that I cooked, recipes with step by step photos....buyt now I don't do it anymore because my time, my energy and my focus went from cooking and nutrition to my baby and his needs.

Anyway, there was a family and friends reunion and I had to bring something to eat! I came up with this dish since I LOVE IT, plus it's easy to make. When you have kids, you try to find easy and healthy recipes to cook, so here is mine! I think it's also festive enough, don't you think?

20191231_171746.jpg

Recipe for the Tabbouleh Salad:

  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2 small cucumbers
  • 1 small red onion
  • 2 bunches of parsley
  • 1 pomegranate
  • some olive oil ( aprox 2 Tbsp)
  • 1/2 lime juice (or lemon juice)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup boiled and strained bulgur/quinoua (optional) I skipped this because I didnt have time for it

If you choose to add bulgur/quinoua you have to boil it first. That's not a big deal. In a few minutes (10-20) you'll have it done!

Cut all veggies in a bowl and then add the remaining ingredients: pomegranate seeds, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and papper (and bulgur if you choose to use it).

20191231_171814.jpg


Recipe for Hummus:

    • one can of chickpeas (400g) (you can choose to use raw and boil them yourself)
    • 1 Tbsp tahini paste
    • 2 Tbsp olive oil
    • 3 small cloves of garlic
    • salt and black pepper
    • 1-2 Tbsp water
    • 2 Tbsp lemon juice

    As I mentioned earlier, time is soo precious and you have to be very organised in order to feel 'sane' and have time not just for baby, but for you and for taking care of the house and everything . Otherwise, you'll lose it with small kids...

    I choose canned chickpeas because it's way easier for me and I like the ones that are available in my area. I choose good quality chickpeas and they are really a miracle for my family.

    Healthy & nutritious, you can have it as a healthy snack, for breakfast, lunch or dinner. They are so versatile and with a small contribution you can create awesome meals.

    So, here's the recipe.

    Strain the chickpeas and put them in the food processor.
    Add all the other ingredients. Pulse until everything takes a form of a paste! All must be homogenized.

    In case it's to tick , add some extra water or lemon juice.

    You can adapt this recipe as you wish. You can skip the tahini ( a lot of people don't like it taste), you can add red peppers or paprika, dried tomatoes, dill, chilli powder, etc.

    20191231_171758.jpg


    I served it with Ciabatta Bread (bread with kalamata olives inside) &

    A mix of greek feta cheese, herbs (thyme, basil, oregano) and olives (green, black and kalamata).

    20191231_171821.jpg

    20191231_171829.jpg

    Well, what do you think? Did you already try this meal? How often do you serve it at home or buy it or maybe....eat it to a restaurant?

    We have this very often cause me and my husband both are crazy about hummus and tabbouleh salad. I can't get enough! When I have the chance to find it in a restaurant, I always order it because I'm curious to try other versions. I had many until now but not enough...

    Speaking about this, here's a photo of this dish I had in Vancouver, The Public Market on Granville Island area, BC Canada. I can't say it was my favourite. I didn't like the hummus to much because it was to sour for me...but for sure I enjoyedthe salad and this place ( A LOT ) and the view!

    20180611_144728.jpg

    20180611_144754.jpg

20180611_150425.jpg

Thanks for reading guys!

I hope this is useful for you, And if you try it, I would like you to come back with a reply telling if you liked it or not :d:D

One more question, I would definetely APPRECIATE IT if you tell me what's your favourite dishes and meals you bring to a party? I am not so creative when it comes to festive food. If its's easy and quick to make, it would be just perfect! :x

Have a wonderful day,

Missdeli (the photo down below is also taken in Granville Island, near the place I had the hummus)

20180611_134716.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency