Apple & Buckwheat Muffins

I decided to challenge myself and change a bit my habits. It can’t be bad for me after all? For instance, I enjoy baking a lot and thought that I would try different flours (millet, chickpea, rice, spelt, quinoa, etc) and not to use too many eggs. I loved the results! – different flavours, textures and still very tasty.

1.JPG

I had in mind to try muffins so I worked a bit on my list of ingredients and ended up with these beauties – gluten, dairy free and no added sugar!

A few days later, I read an post about a competition organised by a catering company which provides people with allergies/intolerances with alternatives to ‘conventional’ food. I thought I’d give it ago and would submit my muffin recipe.

2.JPG

I hope you like it too.

Apple Buckwheat Muffins (GF and vegan)

makes about 8 muffins

  • 125g buckwheat flour
  • 1 big apple, peeled, cored and cubed
  • 40g brown rice flour
  • 60g millet flakes
  • 100ml rice milk
  • 150ml unsweetened apple sauce
  • 50g walnuts, chopped
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3tbsp maple syrup
  • 30g pumpkin seeds + extra for sprinkling
  • 100ml vegetable oil

3.JPG

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees.

Mix all the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.

In another bowl, mix all the wet ingredients + the apples.

Mix the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients. Pour the batter into a muffin tray lined with paper cases. Sprinkle with pumpkin seeds.

Cook in the oven for about 25-30min until lightly golden. Leave to cool down before tucking in.

4.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency