Vegan Ceviche ( Banana Heart/blossom recipe )

IMG_20210830_123207.jpg

Hello Hive,

It's me again, I just want to share with you another recipe that we commonly make for food whenever we have enough time since making this recipe takes time and effort.

Have you ever tried eating Banana Heart/Blossoms? well if not this is an idea if you are interested to make one soon.

received_168093558683682.jpeg

We are surrounded by many banana trees and to have a banana heart we have to let it finish blooms its banana fruits and it's ready to pick.

We can make a lot of dishes out of it and most especially here in the province we make it like a swine food alternative also by stewing and combining it with commercial feeds to save a bit for feeds.

received_384449516531126.jpeg

Banana Heart/blossom grows at the end of a banana fruit cluster they are known also for its good health benefits and more like lowering the risk of heart disease and it can lower the blood pressure because of its rich potassium content

I did start my recipe after gathering banana hearts around my place by separating the mature banana skin and flowers from the fresh ones(the mature skin is for my pigs and the fresh ones is for our meal.sounds funny but that is true 😁)

IMG_20210830_143317.jpg

This is how it looks like

IMG_20210830_143602.jpg

from separating and slicing, Next is to stew it to make it tender and you can see there two pots since I'm stewing also for my pet's food 😁

IMG_20210830_144028.jpg

If it's already tender you transfer them while removing the centre part and the next step is to squeeze in salt patiently to remove the banana odour as well as its rubbery texture.

IMG_20210830_144725.jpg

earlier while waiting for the stewed banana heart I already prepared the spices and ingredients consisting of Onions, spring onions, ginger, peppers, lemon, I also add, one small coconut for its coco milk, vinegar, salt and ground pepper.

received_4491393810937433.jpeg
I did extract the coconut milk from it with 1 1/2 cup of water.

Lastly I only have to combine everything and seasoned for a taste.

IMG_20210830_123124.jpg

It tastes like fish with a sweet and sour flavour. One thing I love about Ceviche is to add on more ginger and onions so I can feel more of the crunchiness.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency