Sapin-Sapin (layered sticky rice) Making my second try!

IMG_20210921_142958.jpg

Sapin-Sapin is a layered glutinous rice and a Filipino coconut dessert, it is made of rice flour, coconut milk, sugar, water flavourings and colouring.

Hello food lovers,

It's me again. Sharing with you today my Sapin-Sapin recipe. This is my second attempt the first one didn't turn out good but the taste was fine maybe because I did try to manipulate the ingredients because I was planning to use them for economic purposes.

In making my second attempt I realise that I should not pursue what I was planning since the ingredients were way expensive and making this delicacy needs a big job and I think just peddling around my place could not return my capital but maybe one day I could sell it online but now I'm making this for the family to try and to share with you my fellow HIVE.

The good thing while I am making this is I have available fresh leftover jackfruit right from the tree, coconut meat and the matured coconut for the coconut milk so it's not difficult for me to find those ingredients from the market. I also bought a ready to use glutinous rice flour rather than buying it by kilo and have to let somebody grind it for me and give an extra money for that (and its good thing it was available in the mall at this time because its very hard to find most of the time I look for they run out).

IMG_20210921_145401.jpg

Ingredients I used

  • 3 1/2 cups glutinous rice flour
  • 3 cups natural coconut milk
  • 1 can condensed milk
  • 3/4 cup refined sugar
  • 1/4 cup fresh young coconut meat
  • 1/4 cup jackfruit
  • 1 tbsp of ube yam
  • vanilla extract (for the base flavour which is the coconut)
  • food colouring(yellow for jackfruit flavour and violet for the ube flavour)
  • latik (toppings)

preparation

  • First thing I did the hard job which was working on the coconut milk that I do manually.

IMG_20210921_154933.jpg

  • then I did the flavours, first is I cut them into cubes and smashed them to blend into the batter for a better taste .Then the ube , I didn't do much work since it is fined already.

IMG_20210921_154855.jpg

received_668810827431009.jpeg

  • after all the flavours are ready I did set them aside and started to work on the batter.

Procedure

  • for the batter, I mix all the ingredients(glutinous rice flour, condensed milk, sugar) and while whisking I gradually add on the coconut milk at a time.

IMG_20210921_151418.jpg

  • when the batter is all done no more lumps are visible and sugar are already dissolved its time to divide it into 3 equal parts.

received_260370209422299.jpeg

  • and time to add on the flavour and the food colour to make it more beautiful.

IMG_20210921_164753.jpg

  • for the first layer which is the ube flavour a put on ube yam and a little bit of purple food colour.
  • for the second layer which was the jackfruit flavour I put on fresh jackfruit and a little bit of yellow food colour
  • for the third part which was the coconut flavour I simply add on vanilla extract for aroma.
    (take note that if you use jackfruit maybe you add on a lesser amount because it's gonna overpower the other flavours.)
    IMG_20210921_164813.jpg

steaming procedure

  • I used an old rice cooker and a portable stove for steaming. In a pot, I boil water and starting to prepare my moulder by wiping some oil to prevent it from sticking.

IMG_20210921_165621.jpg
first layer

received_2928611920732413.jpeg
second layer

received_2989861371325814.jpeg

third layer

each layer I cooked them for about 15-20 minutes each and you can check if it's cooked by inserting a stick to it and if it turns out clean no batter sticks so it's well cooked already.

received_186761583530740.jpeg
cooked product
I use a barbeque stick to loosen from the moulder.

IMG_20210921_172500.jpg

  • Lastly, when it's all cooked I simply flip them and add latik for garnish.

IMG_20210921_172255.jpg

finished dessert! soft, chewy, beautiful and tasty dessert but honestly, the jackfruit overpowered that's why if you are planning to try this recipe just lessen the jackfruit

Thank you for reading this far.

Don't forget to leave some comments and if you can give me little upvote too, I would be very happy 🙂

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency