Loaded Roti Pizza in a hurry

Hi to all the foodie guys and dolls here in the Foodies Bee Hive, I've been rather distracted or shall I say, literally been under siege so to say with the most awful riots and looting happening in our city Durban and on the main highway where goods are being transported between Johannesburg and our city with the port being closed at Durban harbour, as I have been telling my Silver Bloggers' community in some of my blogs.

Firstly and foremost, food and fuel was unobtainable and that's when our community spirit came to the fore with neigbours sharing whatever we had with each other.
Many stores were burnt down, but once the stores started opening, long queues and some empty shelves greeted us!
Bread, eggs and dairy products were simply not available at first but I was able to bake my own bread as I had some flour and yeast.
That was not going to last very long though so when I saw this packet of Rotis at a small spice shop, I grabbed it.

I was not sure what to serve it with, as Mom and my brother, who's currently staying with us while recuperating from radiation for throat cancer, of course cannot eat spicy foods.

A brainwave hit me last night; why not use the rotis as pizza bases?
While it was going to be an experiment, I was certain that it would work; the verdict - crispy thin base topped with gorgeous fresh veggies that once again is freely available.

20210723_185040.jpg

Roti Pizza

  • 6 heat & eat Rotis
  • 2 large Tomatoes diced
  • Tomato & Mushroom Pasta Sauce -
    Note: I usually make my own sauces but with this food scarcity which thankfully did not last as long as we thought it would, I bought whatever I could lay my hands on that I'd be able to use to make something to feed the family
  • 1 large Onion diced
  • Crushed Garlic
  • 1 Red Pepper diced
  • Fresh sweet Basil
  • 1 Brinjal/ Egg Plant diced
  • Italian Salami sliced
  • Cheese grated

20210723_180112.jpg

20210723_182641.jpg

Pizza Party
A nice idea is to get the family involved and have a pizza party by providing all kinds of toppings and let each one put their own toppings on. My family however are spoiled, but the day's coming that I'll arrange this and I'm sure we're gona have a load of fun!

Toppings were added in order given above, so here is a pictorial step-by-step.

Tomatoes & pasta sauce are first in line

20210723_181318.jpg

Next are the onions, garlic, pepper, brinjal and basil, seasoned to taste.

20210723_182401.jpg

Vegetarians can skip the next step, but those who enjoy a bit of smoked meat, can arrange Italian Salami on top.

20210723_183205.jpg

Top the loaded pizza with cheese

20210723_183441.jpg

Bake at 220°C for around 15-20 minutes

20210723_185103.jpg

BON APPETIT MY FOODIE FRIENDS!

20210723_185448.jpg

Heart page break.png

Liz Signature Jan 21.gif
Banner created by @zord189

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved
Heart page break.png

Do you know this Badge?
Papilloncharity.png

It says "Thank you for partnering with the Papillon Foundation by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway."

Do you want this Badge?
If you like this badge and if you want to help too, you can learn more about @combination and the badge in their blog post:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

Hive animated divider 1.gif

CLICK IMAGE TO JOIN SILVER BLOGGERS:



Banner created by @derangedvisions

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency