I Bought Unique Traditional Food with A Bamboo Chip In This Market

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-18 at 22.51.16.jpeg

When you have an opportunity to visit Java Island, Indonesia, please don't forget to try this one. This dish is "Gathot", it's a traditional food from Central Java.

Actually this food comes from Gunung Kidul, Yogyakarta. But along with the times, Gathot can be found in many traditional markets in Central Java.

This food is made using fermented cassava (cassava). The washed cassava is dried in the sun until the fermented mushrooms appear. If the process stops here, then this food will be named "Gaplek".

The Gaplek is then soaked for two nights until the texture becomes chewy. After being washed and the skin removed, the cassava is then cut into small pieces and soaked again for one night. After that, it will be steamed for two hours with brown sugar and a little salt. When served, this food will be sprinkled with grated coconut. This is what is called Gathot.

Gathot is a food that has a high nutritional content, especially protein and amino acids. In some areas, Gathot is used as a staple food instead of rice (the majority of Indonesians eat rice).

AND, I bought this one from the Bamboo Market in Temanggung, Indonesia. This market is very unique because they don't use rupiah or dollar. They use a piece of bamboo as their "legal money".

ehihzlfm4du8jgl4wmsc.jpg

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to take a picture at the main gate. I totally forgot about it, lol. The atmosphere is very magical. Once you step into the bamboo forest, you will hear the melodious sound of the gamelan. This beautiful rhythm then combines with the breeze that makes you stunned. So I take this main gate picture from their official Instagram account here.

But the other picture is mine. I took it with my old Samsung Galaxy A6 (2018).

Anyway, after passing the main gate, you need to exchange your money. If I'm not wrong, they called their bamboo coin "kepring". One kepring equals Rp2,000. We can only exchange money in multiples of IDR 20,000 or IDR 50,000. See the picture below.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-18 at 22.51.14.jpeg

And then, the main menu: THE FOOD IS CRAZY (and it's super cheap)!!

One portion of Gathot costs 10 kepring (or Rp20.000). If we change it to USD, it only costs $1,39! What thing you can get in the USA with $1,39? As a tourist, it's very cheap. But as a local, I think it's fair because every food in Temanggung is cheap. In general.

Next. After tried the Gathot, I'm looking for the other dishes for breakfast. Oh, this market is starting from 6 am till 11 am. It's the perfect time to looking for a nice breakfast.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-18 at 22.51.13 (1).jpeg

I tried this one. "Lesah Ayam Kampung". I should tell you that the name is very funny. In Bahasa, "Lesah" means "tired or crisis". I can't help but laughing when I know the name of this food. It cost 4 kepring (Rp 8,000 or $0,56).

Lesah is a type of soto (Indonesian soup) with coconut milk. It's a typical food of Karesidenan Kedua (including Temanggung, Magelang, Wonosobo etc). The food is usually served with rice and the gravy is yellowish at a glance, similar to Soto Lamongan, but more cloudy.

I'm really surprised that with only 50 cents I can get a bowl of rice soup with tofu and CHICKEN! Crazy, right?

THE BEVERAGES

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-18 at 22.51.18.jpeg

Well, I don't really remember it. But I think it's a bamboo flower with lime and mint. It looks like butterfly pea tea, but it's definitely not that. Because I remember I bought this one because I never tried it.

Even though I don't remember the name, but I still remember how it tastes. It's strangely warm and sweet. It's more like a light version of hot ginger. And It looks beautiful. I mean, it's blue.

This drink costs 2 kepring (Rp4,000 or $0,28). Look at these prices. I really want to move to Temanggung because everything is cheap!

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-18 at 22.51.15.jpeg

This drink named "Wedang Lungkrah" or Lungkrah Drink. It's also very funny because in Javanese, "Lungkrah" means "tired or weak". But I can guarantee, I'm not weak. Even though I bought this drink, I'm not weak.

Honestly, I don't know what this drink is made of. This is a traditional herbal medicine typical of Central Java which is efficacious to relieve fatigue. It tastes like a mixture of ginger, alang-alang root, and (perhaps) a little turmeric and palm sugar. I may be wrong, but this drink really makes my body feel more comfortable and warm.

And it costs 1 kepring (Rp 2,000 or $0,14). I'm playing Crypto Pop for a day to get $0,14. Lol.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-18 at 22.51.14 (1).jpeg

From all sweets and beverages that I taste in this market, this one is the main character. It's Wedang Pring or Ice Bamboo Drink. Just like the name, it's made from bamboo!

I really can't explain the tastes of this drink. It's mind-blowing. I really don't know that we can make juice from bamboo. I mean, it's bamboo. A tree. It tastes good and is surprisingly fresh. I really like it. I want to buy the second round, but sadly I ran out of kepring. It is probably my favorite beverage from Temanggung.

The day after, I'm looking around the city but I can't find any cafe or restaurant that sells the Ice Bamboo Drink. Sad.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-18 at 22.51.18 (1).jpeg

Apart from selling food, they also sell vegetables from local farmers. They also sell toys and kitchen utensils which are mostly made of bamboo.

Most of the visitors in this market are tourists, especially foreign tourists. This market is only open twice a month. Uniquely they adhere to the Javanese calendar. They are open every Wage Sunday and Pon Sunday.

During the pandemic, this market is still closed. If one day Papringan Market opens again, make sure you check the Javanese calendar before coming.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency