HIVE Creatives Contest | It's a Chicky's Day-Out

After being away for so long, seems like the right time to come back & once again participate in @zord189's weekly HIVE Creatives Contest. Ever since the lock down in HCMC, there isn't much to do except for work and cook my own meals since all eateries are closed and only take-aways are allowed. I'm no fan for take-aways because I don't really know what to order at times and it is far more cheaper to just cook myself.

So, for this week's submission to the theme of BOK BOK, I'll like to share my dish of Pressure Cooked Claypot Chicken Rice Malaysian Style. I had wanted to prepare our signature Claypot Chicken Rice which is why I actually bought a claypot but I could never get it right the first time due to I wasn't using a real fire stove. With an induction cooker, I could not get the burnt rice texture which is important for this dish.

In my second attempt, I used a Pressure Cooker which by the way I recently bought when I was in quarantine. Unfortunately, it was a failure as I used too much water. Not giving up and telling myself that third time's a charm, I followed the recipe which I got from YouTube and TA DA !! A perfect dish ready to be served to my friends for dinner. The trick to trying out any new dish is that practice makes perfect and finding a willing Guinea Pig is very important.

Well, enough of me babbling away.. let's have a look at my cooking experience!

Blue and Yellow Modern Education YouTube Thumbnail.png
My successfully plated Pressure Cooked Claypot Chicken Rice

Ingredients

6-8 pieces of chicken
6 mushrooms (soaked & stump removed)
1 1/2 cup of Jasmine Rice
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 cup water
Chinese sausage (skin removed & sliced)
Shredded ginger (garnish)
Spring onion (garnish)

IMG_0960.JPG

Ingredients for marination

1 tbsp light soya sauce
1 tbsp dark soya sauce
1 1/2 tsp sugar
1 1/2 tsp corn flour
1 tsp Shiu Heng Zhou
1 dash pepper
1 tbsp 5 spice powder
1 tbsp shredded ginger

Mix it well with the chicken and leave it overnight so that the marination seeps into the meat.

IMG_0961.JPG
Marination ingredient

Chinese sausage - skin removed, sliced & lightly stir fried

Step By Step

Place water into the pot and add 1 tsp salt.
Then, place the chicken in, arranging them nicely on level.
Add in mushroom & Chinese sausage.
Last, arrange the rice on top so that it's all level.
If using a manual pressure cooker, set timer to 9 minutes with the pressure nut closed to keep the air within the pot.
If it's an automated pressure cooker, just select the Rice option & press Start.

IMG_0976.jpg

Once the 9 minutes is up, slowly release the pressure. Be sure not to place your face or fingers too near to the pressure nut. Once all the pressure has been released, slowly open the cover and mix it well. It should look like this minus a slightly burnt rice which I don't have here. But, it taste real good !

IMG_0856.JPG
This is my newly purchased pressure cooker in Vietnam. Result of 21-days quarantine de-stress therapy

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency