Napa Cabbage Rolls - My childhood dish!

1st_pic.jpg

This is my very first post on Foodies Bee Hive and I am so excited to share with you my grandmother's recipe of a traditional family dish. When I was a kid, I didn't eat much vegetables or mushrooms, so my grandmother tried to cook many different kinds of dishes and made me try them. On top of the list, Napa Cabbage Roll was my favorite meal during that time. My family usually eat it with rice and soup but I just love to have it by itself. Currently I'm living abroad, far away from my grandmother and whenever I cook this, I miss her a lot. Food is not just for displaying on the table, it touches my soul as well.

If you’re looking for a meal which is low carb, fresh, and tasty. Let’s try this, this is a really simple recipe which I believe everyone can do easily.
Let’s check out the recipe.

Ingredients
ingredient.png

img_8848.jpg

Instructions
1. Cut the core of the cabbage
img_8841.jpg

2. Soak the shiitake mushroom in warm water for 20 mins then cut in small pieces, and chop the white part of the shallot in thin slices
img_8846.jpg
img_8845.jpg

3. Mix the filling which contains pork mince, shiitake mushrooms, shallots,corn starch and seasonings (follow the ingredient list)
img_8844.jpg

img_8843.jpg

4. Briefly cook cabbage leaves & green part of shallots in boiling water until wilted
img_8840.jpg

img_8839.jpg

5. Wrap the filling which you just mixed with cabbage leaves then use the green shallot to tie as a ribbon
roll.png

6. Bring the water to boil and steam for 12 mins
img_8834.jpg

7. Make the sauce
Just have a look at the ingredient list, mix all of them well and you'll have a yummy sauce, you can pour it over the rolls or eat on the side, I love to deep the rolls in the sauce, it's tasty!
img_8830.jpg

img_8831.jpg

Note: if you can't eat pork or don't like pork, you can flexibly change to chicken, beef or even shrimps instead

Thanks for spending your time on my post! If you get a chance to try this recipe, I'd love to hear the feed back from you! Love!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency