[ENG-ESP] Argentinian mazamorra recipe! // Receta de la "mazamorra" argentina! - by @heypuch

Hello Foodies friends! I hope you are good. Today vpy will participate in the First Foodies Contest! already in the last straight, since I was not at home to start cooking. The idea of ​​the contest is that we share typical sweet recipes of our country or where we are living, I am Argentina and I live in my country, so I was thinking a lot about what recipe I was going to share with you ... personally I am not a sweet person, although I sell cakes, so I had to go to my mother to refresh my memory. My mother told me about my childhood, and how she used to cook often "rice pudding" but it seemed like a very simple recipe (although I can share the recipe on another occasion ") so I went back to my school memories and remembered that one year I acted in a school act on the homeland date of "negrita mazamorrera" who was the character who was dedicated to selling "mazamorra", which is a typical sweet dish from the north of my country and that here in Buenos Aires is usually consumed only on national dates , due to its high caloric content. So I decided to share with you this recipe that seemed to me to be definitely the most traditional one that exists along with the "cakes" that I will also tell you how they are made on another occasion! I already owe you 3 recipes, so let's start !

Hola amigos de Foodies! espero que se encuentren muy bien. El dia de hoy a vpy participar del Primer Concurso Foodies! ya en la ultima recta, ya que no estuve en casa para ponerme a cocinar. La idea dle concurso es que compartamos recetas dulces tipicas de nuestro pais o donde estemos viviendo, yo soy Argentina y vivo en mi pais, asi que estuve pensando mucho que receta iba a compartirles.... personalmente yo no soy una persona dulcera, aunque me dedico a vender pasteles, asi que tuve que acudir a mi madre para que me refrescara la memoria. Mi madre me hablo de mi infancia, y como ella solia cocinar seguido "arroz con leche" pero me parecio una receta muy sencilla (aunque puedo compartirles la receta en otra ocasion") asi que me remonté a mis recuerdos escolares y recordé que un año actué en un acto escolar en fecha patria de "negrita mazamorrera" que era el personaje que se dedicaba a vender "mazamorra", que es un plato dulce tipico del norte de mi pais y que aquí en Buenos Aires se suele consumir solo en fechas patrias, por su alto contenido calorico. Asi que decidí compartirles ésta receta que me pareció la definitivamente mas tradicional que existe junto a los "pastelitos" que tambien en otra oportunidad voy a contarles como se hacen! ya les estoy debiendo 3 recetas, asi que comencemos!

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-23 at 17.03.12.jpeg

We are going to start with the recipe that is started 24 hours before. We are going to place 200 grams of white corn in a container with twice as much water. We are going to let it rest in the refrigerator for a whole day.

Vamos a comenzar con la receta que se comienza 24 horas antes. Vamos a colocar 200 gr de maiz blanco en un recipiente con el doble de agua. Lo vamos a dejar descansar en la heladera durante un dia entero.

Meanwhile I tell you a little about the origin of the recipe. It turns out that I thought it was 100% Argentine but no, the mazamorra se vree is originally from Europe and traveled to our continent together with the "conquerors." It was modified to make it more accessible to the poor. In colonial times it was sold on the streets by the "black mazamorreras" who later became a character for school events, but who were slaves who were searched in the street.
It was consumed throughout the country, but little by little it was displaced by other dishes, and now it is only consumed regularly in the north of the country, or throughout the country only on national dates, like locro. It is a dish that we consume to "feel more patriotic" but that is then forgotten until next year.

Mientras tanto les cuento un poco el origen de la receta. Resulta que yo creia que era 100% argentina pero no, la mazamorra se vree es orioginaria de europa y viajó a nuestro continente junto con los "conquistadores". Fue modificado para hacerlo mas accesible para los pobres. En la epoca colonial era vendido en las calles por las "negras mazamorreras" que luego se volvió un personaje para los actos escolares, pero que eran esclavas que se rebuscaban en la calle. Se consumia en todo el pais, pero poco a poco fue desplazada por otros platos, y ahora solo se consume habitualmente en el norte del pais, o en todo el pais unicamente en fechas patrias, al igual que el locro. Es un plato que consumimos para "sentirnos mas patriotas" pero que luego es olvidado hasta el proximo año.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-23 at 17.03.10.jpeg

Let's continue with the recipe ... After the corn's resting time, we are going to prepare all the ingredients. Let's review that we had 200 grams of corn and twice as much water. In that same water we are going to cook it for an hour so that the corn softens. Then we are going to prepare 700 cc of milk, 60 grams of sugar, and cinnamon.

Sigamos con la receta... Transcurrido el tiempo de reposo del maiz vamos a preparar todos los ingredientes. Repasemos que teniamos 200 gr de maiz y el doble de agua. En esa misma agua vamos a llevarlo a coccion por una hora para que el maiz se ablande. Luego vamos a preparar 700 cc de leche, 60 gr de azucar, y canela.

IMG-20210823-WA0015.jpg

The corn is already soft, we are going to heat the 700 cc of milk until it boils.

El maiz ya está blando, vamos a poner a calentar los 700 cc de leche hasta que rompa hervor.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-23 at 17.03.10 (1).jpeg

IMG-20210823-WA0020.jpg

We are going to lower the heat of the milk and we are going to add the sugar, corn and cinnamon. After about 10 minutes we are going to remove the cinnamon stick and we are going to stir so that it does not stick to the base of the pot, since it will begin to thicken.
Now it is totally comfortable, the corn is already cooked so we are only going to look for the texture we want, I personally wait for the water to evaporate completely so that it is creamy, but you can leave it with the liquid!

Vamos a bajar el fuego de la leche y vamos a agregar el azucar, el maiz y la canela. Transcurridos unos 10 minutos vamos a retirar la rama de canela y vamos revolver para que no se pegue en la base de la olla, ya que comenzará a espesar. Ahora es totalmente a gusto, el maiz ya está cocido asi que unicamente vamos a buscar la textura que queremos, yo personalmente espere a que el agua se evapore por completo para que esté bien cremoso, pero puedes dejarle el liquido!

IMG-20210823-WA0021.jpg

with 200 gr of corn I got 300 gr of porridge! I served in a bowl and decorated with ground cinnamon and the cinnamon stick to make it more gourmet! LOL

con 200 gr de maiz conseguí 300 gr de mazamorra! serví en un cuenco y decoré con canela en polvo y la rama de canela para que quede mas gourmet! jajaja

IMG-20210823-WA0011.jpg

Now I am going to give you my refund, because I had no memories of the taste of this dish, I personally liked it but I could not finish the dish that I served myself. I shared it with my mother and even so we left half in the refrigerator, it is very heavy and I am not used to the taste of cinnamon. It reminded me a lot of rice pudding which is basically the same, only with rice haha. Even so, I invite you to make this recipe at home, since it is easy to make! You just have to remember to soak the corn the day before.

Ahora voy a darles mi devolucion, porque no tenia recuerdos del sabor de éste plato, a mi personalmente me gustó pero no pude terminar el plato que me serví. Lo compartí con mi madre y aun asi dejamos la mitad en la heladera, es muy pesado y no estoy acostumbrada al sabor de la canela. Me recordó mucho al arroz con leche que es basicamente igual, solo que con arroz jaja. Aun así los invito a realizar esta receta en casa, ya que es facil de hacer! solo tienes que recordar en dejar en remojo el maiz un dia antes.


Thank you very much for reading my post!
a kiss and a hug, heypuch ♥

Muchas gracias por leer mi post! un beso y un abrazo, heypuch ♥

todas las fotos son de mi autoria.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency