South Indian Cuisine 🇮🇳 🧑‍🍳 in the Heart Of Japan 🇯🇵

51928FD2-9B70-4A88-B29E-BE41147B453E.jpeg

Today I had my mind fixed on some cheap but delicious fried chicken for lunch from the local meat shop. They have fried goods as well as fresh meat.

As I was approaching the shop I saw my friend that owns an Indian cafe across the street. He signaled to me asking if I was coming but I pointed to the meat shop. As I entered the shop I realized it was packed.

On top of that, everyone in the line was not looking too healthy. ( neither am I but every good choice counts right ?) So I came out of the shop and looked around for a minute thinking, “healthy but expensive or cheap and delicious?”

I went for the healthy and expensive. At my age or any age as a matter of fact, healthy eating is a must. But the truth is we can’t all afford to do it all the time. Just think about it, bunch of grapes costs up to $20, and a McDonald’s set cost less than $5.

9CA1B603-2D16-4A9D-BE16-DAC764A07227.jpeg

After contemplating for a minute, I went over to my friend’s Indian cafe. Today he was serving Dosa. Dosa is a like a fermented crepe batter made from lentils and rice as well as herbs and spices. It was served with 2 different types of curry, butter chicken and mince. In the main plate with the dosa, there were four different types of pastes made with coconut, beans, herbs spices and various veggies. There was also a neat cup of long grain rice.

I was told to eat the dosa first when it is crispy and mix the various pastes to get different flavors to spread on the crepe. The thing with this dish is there are so many combinations one can make from all that is on the plate.

The curries made for good dipping of the dosa as well. A good thing about this spot is you can get seconds. The owner will ask if you need more rice, dosa or curry. Now I see why this dish costs $15. It’s not something you can get everyday/everywhere in Japan as most Indian restaurants just have nan and curry. Also, everything he serves is fresh, there are no microwaved or heated up foods in this Indian cafe.

Have you ever tried dosa? What do you think about this South Indian cuisine?

image.png
DB812758-15DF-472A-85FD-87AEF27ED9AA.jpeg
image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency