Mommy's Mental Health: Chapter 14 - Breakfast for One (Mom) at Reload Café

I've been keeping it a secret, but I've actually been on leave for the last two weeks.

When my boss informed me about accumulated leave I had lying around, I only then realised how much I actually needed a break, and how close to burnout I was. The original idea was to just take 1 day after my last performance with @JasperDick at the Barleycorn on the 9th of August, but in hindsight, I am so grateful I took some much-needed time for myself.

Aside from the never-ending torn knee ligament recovery, I also got slammed with the flu (not Covid, don't worry) just in time for the performance. In the last year or three I've lost my job, found the love of my life, had massive family rifts, we've had near-Armageddon, moved homes and juggled 3 children/ teenagers and I guess I just didn't realise how much it had all taken out of me.

Like old Bilbo Baggins, I was certainly feeling like too little butter, spread over too much bread.

I've been hiding from the world for the last 8 days.... only responding to whatsapps and phonecalls when I absolutely have to, and doing my best to keep my anxiety and guilt at bay. I mean, I come from the world of hospitality, so deep down, this whole concept of PAID annual leave is still awfully foreign to me.

I've spent the best part of my leave hiding under my fuzzy purple blanket, with a hot water bottle and my cat, binge watching "Outlander" on Netflix and screeching at anyone who disturbs my slumber. @ZakLudick deserves a damn medal. Really.

Today, however, was actually the 1st day I really felt like I was on leave.

My hubby, @ZakLudick, insisted I get out and treat myself a bit, and oh boy am I grateful I did. Not only did putting on a little makeup and getting changed into something other than pajamas do me a world of good (ok I kept my pajama pants on but you couldn't see them but I did begrudgingly don a brazier🤣🙈) but the fresh air, exquisite food, and aromatic chai (the latte - I did not take my cat with me, also named Chai for those of you who have missed my cat posts) warmed me right to my core.

Reload Café is just an absolute luxurious treat on the eyes and tastebuds, with a roaring fireplace, pizza oven, a whole wall dedicated to wine and a mind-boggling amount of plants.

I had quite possibly one of the best breakfasts I have ever had: a simple sourdough-based bagel: served toasted with fresh butter, with bacon, scrambled egg and sliced fresh avo. Coupled with the absolutely impeccable service, I must say, I had the most perfect breakfast date ... with myself!

I don't know what their secret is with the scrambled egg - creamy yet utterly light and fluffy. I could only venture to guess from experience that they may have added real cream.... but I did not ask.

I took a little walk through the courtyard after my breakfast and snapped these shots for you. Although the photos below do the bright coral flowers and other thoughtfully chosen decor no justice, I do hope they give you a peek into what I feasted my eyes on this morning.

I returned home, completely refreshed. Put on my favourite sleepy meditation/ anti-anxiety music, and despite the walls literally being bashed down by builders next door, I was only awoken by my own snoring.


Source: Calmed By Nature
Sometimes, for the goodness of my own mental health. I need to remember to slow down, smell the flowers, spoil myself a little and most importantly, allow myself the time to truly rest.

I am grateful to head into the last quarter of this year with my heart full of love and songs and instead of anxiety and cobwebs, my head full of ideas and inspiration.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency