Waste not want not...Banana na na naaa na na na, baa nana na naa naaaa na na

So I don't believe in wasting anything, afterall, waste is not good for the environment, nor is it good for my pocket either- especially in these tough financial times, so when I heard that you could eat banana skins- well I went Bananas 🀑 and I just had to try it myself...

BANANA BACON that is! And after watching many vids on the other tube, I did my own thing..🀣.

bb6.png

So I made a marinade with all of these ingredients that I already had in my cupboard

bb1.png

AND talking about NOT wasting things, I made something for the Plant-Based Cooking Challenge πŸ‘¨πŸΏβ€πŸ³ Week #20- from @lotusshares and Authored by @justinparke here @chocolatescorpi/plant-based-cooking-challenge-week-20-i-am-joining-you AND if you notice in this photos below, in the sieve, there is the leftover squished prunes after making a sweetener for the Vanilla Ginger Chia pudding (which by the way is totally DELICIOUS...πŸ˜‹..), which I then used as the sweetener for this marinade instead of sugar, maple syrup and any other sweet sauces/sweeteners...And instead of throwing it away.

CHIA #3.png

So anyway, after washing the nanies, I carefully cut the tops and tails off (which I diced up and put in my pot plants...) and carefully sliced the nanies down the centre so I could get a nice wide strips.

bb2.png

I then threw the nanies into a washed reused plastic baggie with the marinade and left it in the fridge overnight to get the most flavour into them.

bb3.png

Now all the vids I watch on the other tube said to scrape they stuff off the inside of the skin, but I don't know why and couldn't see any reason to, so I left it in there as my rationale is that it is still edible and would allow the marinade to soak into it more too.

They all said to marinate the strips for about 20-30mins, but really, how much flavour would that give them, which is why I left mine marinating for almost 24hrs....

Then I pan fried them and although all the other vids out there fried theirs hard enough to come out crunchy, I deliberately did NOT, as even when I (horribly ate poor piggies- MY Chinese zodiac animal....like eating myself really...ewwww.) ate bacon, I never liked it burnt and crispy anyway....

bb4.png

So I gently fried mine, keeping an eye on the smoke coming out of the fry pan with all of the doors and windows open (as I live in an apt and HATE the smoke detector screaming at me...)

And ended up with these perfectly cooked and absolutely sensational tasting Banana Bacon Banana Bacon! πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

bb5.png

And no, they're not exactly like Bacon, but it's so damn close to it, I'll definitely be making these again and it was so easy too!

Plus Wayyyy more nutritious than eating poor Piggies too...So there were no piggies or any other animal harmed in the making of this bacon and the nanies have gone into the freezer for my breakfast smoothies....

THE END. 😁

bb7.png

Well, thank you all for reading and putting up with my rambling tonight and if you did make it this far, you are absolute champions!

And unless otherwise stated- ALL photographs, are all my originals taken by me sometime in the past decade or so somewhere in my travels and as such, ofcourse they are subject to all international IP and copyright laws and I may have already used them for my own commercial purposes here https://www.redbubble.com/people/CHOCOLATESCORPI/shop And here https://fineartamerica.com/art/chocolatescorpi, So please ask first if you want to use any of them as we wouldn't want you getting into trouble. Thank you 😊

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

The Ladies of Hive- your own crypto world girl gang full of fun and suprises, so click on the link to find out more about this brilliant community of caring, companionship and creative contests, such as this one....@ladiesofhive/ladies-of-hive-community-contest-41

Screen Shot 2021-07-25 at 10.22.34 pm.png

@hiveaustralia, formerly @teamaustralia check us out now! (cause we're all so damn cool (and usually pretty hot too in more ways than one....πŸ˜πŸ˜†πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜….....and freezing...and wet...and drought stricken...and flooding..and on fire.....) But always such damn cool cats...😁

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency