Vegan sushi maki rolls

DSC_1982.jpg

Sushi is something I don't crave all that often. I do enjoy it though. The owner of the restaurant that I work at now which is vegan Mexican themed, owns a sushi restaurant which is one of the most popular vegan restaurants in Montreal. I tried it once before I starting working for him, and it truly was magical. It's not in our budget to eat there. He has brought it to me at my work, a couple of times. Lately I have been wanting his sushi again but I had to make my own which is not as magical as his, but enjoyable all the same.

The other day my manager said our boss was redesigning the sushi restaurant so he was throwing out his sushi boards. I was not going to see loads of these going in the garbage so I took some. Perfect since I was craving sushi anyway.

Sushi rice
2 cups sushi rice
2 1/4 cups water
3 tablespoons rice vinegar
3 tablespoons rice wine
3 tablespoons mirin
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt

Rinse the rice several times then let drain for twenty to thirty minutes. Add water then soak for thirty minutes. Cook bringing to a boil then turn to simmer until the liquid is gone.

I make my sushi rice different all the time. This is what I threw in this time and I found it to my liking. Some people cook it in sake which I won't because I don't want to be bothered buying sake.

I had two fillings. One would be black trumpet oysters which I coated in a batter and browned.

DSC_1948.jpg

Ideally deep frying these would be even better but I didn't want to go to get more oil.
The batter was a simple mix of 1 cup flour, 1 vegan egg, water, seasonings and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda.

DSC_1951.jpg

Brown until crispy as possible.
DSC_1952.jpg

When spreading the cooled rice on the sheet, have a bowl of water to wet your fingertips. This makes spreading the rice much easier. Make sure you get right to the side edges. Roll up tuck and roll tightly all the way.
I added shredded carrots and green onions to the mushroom.

DSC_1954.jpg

For the second roll, I used soy sheets that come in different colors.

DSC_1956.jpg

I had previously grilled red peppers for whatever I decided to use them for. I chose to add some to the second roll. I also added shredded carrot, shredded beet and green onion. I decided to put a maple dijon mustard dressing on as well. The dressing was made from 3 tablespoons dijon, 2 cloves garlic, 2 tablespoons maple syrup, 1/4 cup white balsamic, 1/4 cup olive oil, salt and pepper. Blend until smooth. I have heard that the reason my bosses' sushi tastes so good is that he uses a mayo from Japan. He has it shipped special because the vegan version of this brand can't be purchased in Canada. I don't have this mayo so my secret will be this dressing.

DSC_1960.jpg

When we lived in Ontario we used to go to an all you can eat sushi restaurant.
I would always start with a miso soup. Marc didn't want it in so he could fill up with sushi.

DSC_1967.jpg
I like to have miso soup when I'm at a sushi restaurant. It seems to add to the experience somehow so I made some to remind us of that experience.

DSC_1966.jpg

For the soy dipping sauce I added a splash of mirin and a few drops of sesame oil.

DSC_1981.jpg

I realize that pickled ginger and wasabi is a must. I love how wasabi hurts so good but in a different way then hot peppers. Some use spicy mayo but I didn't bother. I'm not an expert at Japanese cuisine. I just like sushi once in a while.

DSC_1983.jpg

DSC_1979.jpg
I wish you all peace and thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency