From My Garden To Your Kitchen

img_9085.png
I love going to my garden and knowing I can pick the ingredients for a meal just right outside my door. Onions, potatoes, sweet potatoes, tomatoes and garlic grow year round here. Herbs for seasoning our food and making delicious teas are always available as are citrus and hot peppers.
img_9046.jpg
Scraps and seeds and regrown or composted in our worm bins. Everything is organically grown and I use a companion method and great bug picking skills to keep our garden pest free!
Somehow after many years I’ve gotten the rhythm down and we are never without. Well sometimes the hens escape their coop and get to our goodies too lol!
When my daughter @anyavp comes to visit she likes to open up the spice pantry and say she loves how it smells. It reminds her of her grandmothers kitchen. Nostalgia plays such a huge part on our senses.
For a couple of years now I have been only using my homemade spice mixes. I pick my harvests at a precise time of day where they retain the most flavor and are the most fragrant. I clean them gently without bruising them and reuse the water from every rinse in my garden. It seems like a lot of work because it is. We reserve one day a week for harvesting herbs and preparing them.
img_9087.jpg
It truly is a labor of love! I occasionally gift samples to my clients, family, neighbors and friends. They all love them how many times have suggested that I should be selling
them.
So.... with that in mind I have decided to start making my 3 most popular blends, my all purpose seasoning, Italian blend and my spicy jalapeño carne asada (grilled meat) seasoning that is also a hit at parties when I use it to rim margarita glasses or to lick off a lime when taking a tequila shot!
Once they are ready to grow I’ll be selling them in small batches , as making sure everything is up to standard and as clean as anything more importantly.
I’m excited for my little side project and I’m even more so to share it with you!
Today I will be dehydrating mushrooms, shiitake and oyster mushrooms. I love having both of these available!
img_9090.heic
And I’ll also be getting gorgeous blue eggs from my hens ready for my friends to pick up!
img_9084.jpg
Any plans for your day today?
May your home be filled with warmth, your pantry full and may you always have good health!
img_2482.heic
L
Xo,
IMG_1115.JPG
7FD15966-03BB-4564-8F29-74A5A6A84179.jpeg
AD249043-CFA4-4968-B8B9-6BF16B001793.jpeg
BTC
3EnChez6mqJGzsLtFzrXiuAcwy26QcE4YS
3CFF9029-60A3-43BF-A4F7-C5227BA8DFA8.jpeg
JOIN HIVE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency