Don’t Waste Food! Pickled Watermelon Rind Recipe

img_2286.jpg
Getting ready for our fall garden is my favorite task! I’m picking the last of the tomatoes, although I still have the volunteer plants giving us some here and there and canning as well as dehydrating some of my garden goodies.
img_2288.jpg
I was super happy to see my lemon thyme had made a comeback after my chickens decided it was a fun plant to scratch out of the ground and nibble on! I picked a couple of sprigs to add and refill my sea salt I keep next yo my stove to finish off dishes with. I usually just add a few sprigs and let the salt dehydrate them then I mix it all up and use as needed.
img_2297.jpg
To my surprise I found a lone little round watermelon amongst my chaos garden and I was so happy to see it was very ripe! It was the sweetest little delicious watermelon and being the only watermelon I knew I had to do something special and not let it all go to waste. Pickled watermelon rind had to be made!
I like to wash my watermelon then peel off the outer skin. After that I cut all the “white” parts into squares and fill up a mason jar with them.
img_2287.jpg
In a saucepan I add
1 1/2 cup white vinegar
1 cup water
1 cup white sugar
1 tsp peppercorns
1 tsp red pepper flakes
3 tbsp kosher salt
2 tsp coriander seeds

Boil all these ingredients together then cover and let cool. Once the mixture is at room temperature pour over your watermelon and cap tightly. Make sure to remove any air bubbles by poking your jar with a chopstick. I like to put my jar bottom side up in the refrigerator that way the watermelon on top is ready to eat once it gets all pickled.
img_2292.jpg
Pickling usually takes one week and will last indefinitely in your refrigerator but I doubt they will not be eaten soon! It’s great to eat it on of its own or chopped onto potato salad or slaw! But my favorite part is nothing goes to waste from such a delicious fruit!
Have you ever had pickled watermelon rind?
May your home be filled with warmth, your pantry full and may you always have good health!
img_1985.jpg
Xo,
IMG_1115.JPG
7FD15966-03BB-4564-8F29-74A5A6A84179.jpeg
AD249043-CFA4-4968-B8B9-6BF16B001793.jpeg
BTC
3EnChez6mqJGzsLtFzrXiuAcwy26QcE4YS
3CFF9029-60A3-43BF-A4F7-C5227BA8DFA8.jpeg
JOIN HIVE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency