Lunch direct from the garden: food for my soul

IMG_5376.jpg

Thanks to bitcoin's recent volatility (and my desire to trade those crazy moves) it has been a while since I went to the garden to pick my own lunch. So long in fact that it felt quite overgrown and I was reminded instantly how much I missed these perfectly calm moments, alone in nature. My family are in Marseille for the weekend.

IMG_5373.jpg

There is always something to nibble on while I do my thing. Strawberries & raspberries today.

IMG_5366.jpg

Let me give you a quick tour before I get back to the salad.

These peppers have exploded in the last few weeks. Don't think they are ready for salads yet though. Hoping they will fatten out a bit!

IMG_5370.jpg

Baby courgettes looking fab.

IMG_5364.jpg

Here is an avocado tree I planted last year.

IMG_5363.jpg

The sweetcorn is just starting to produce tassels.

IMG_5353.jpg

Beautiful things.

IMG_5357.jpg

The cucumbers are a good size for pickles currently.

IMG_5360.jpg

I can see the elderberries coming here. Have been so enjoying the elderflower cordial & champagne I made from the flowers in spring.

IMG_5361.jpg

Right next to the elder tree is a fig tree, just a few weeks from being ripe enough to eat.

IMG_5362.jpg

Beetroot coming along nicely.

IMG_5371.jpg

Check out the little grapes. We have two vines.

IMG_5374.jpg

The pansies are loving it.

IMG_5368.jpg

Here is our last broccoli plant of the season looking very proud before I picked it today. The stems (which most people don't seem to eat) are unbelievably sweet.

IMG_5365.jpg

Can anyone tell me if this mushroom is edible?

IMG_5359.jpg

Found it growing here in the shade of the cherry trees, just before I made my way home. I think it is a puffball?

IMG_5375.jpg

The main salad was a combination of four varieties of lettuce, celery leaves, rocket, broccoli & pansies.

I added some tomatoes, cucumber & mushrooms from the fridge and made a lime, sesame & olive oil dressing, topped with a sprinkle of mixed seeds. Looks like Fifi is hiding here to get a few moments of peace from from Lilu.

IMG-5380 (1).jpg

She a quite a little terror now...

IMG-5394 (1).jpg

...and still won't stop playing with my cables!

IMG-5395.jpg

Yep, that's just how it is with kittens 😺

I leave you with some garden art from a few weeks ago.

IMG_4885.jpg

Those are borage flowers if you're wondering, drink them in tea for fevers, coughs & depression.

While pine needle tea on the other hand could be the answer to the covid jab shedding / transmission issue? Read more about that here

IMG_5352.jpg

God bless #naturalmedicine :)

Are you stocking up on everything for the winter?

You should be.

Love & Light everyone 🌱

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency