Welcome To My First Container Garden In The New Flat !

IMG_20210518_175323.jpg

Hello!

It´s been a while since I posted here, we now live in another district after giving-up our house and garden last Summer. It was a lot of work relocating and even until now, we are not done yet with unboxing of things for the house. We have a smaller space now trimming down from 4 to 2 bedrooms and that is good so. Since we are now retired and of advanced age, my husband and I decided to move for health reasons. We could no longer maintain the house plus the garden.

I am not new to container gardening since I practiced it in the former house. Although we had a garden, I could not plant anything downstairs because of the slugs, so I had my veggies planted in containers up on the top terrace. I posted about it here.

IMG_20210518_175303.jpg

The status of the container garden as of today...

My space now is limited in the balcony, so I chose containers that are not so huge. When I started planting last April, the status of the newbies were not that great since we have had cold weather and even snow and I couldn´t leave them outside. Normally, Spring is a good season to replant newbies..

IMG_20210518_192408.jpg

I have had my first lettuce harvest last week and made green salad adding the chives and store bought cherry tomatoes. You can see below the state of my lettuce about a month ago, they weren´t that healthy but I tried to replant them in these containers below...

IMG_20210412_191113.jpg

IMG_20210410_180040.jpg

I thought these lettuce won´t survive, but I still tried and was just hoping. The onions were planted in strawberry boxes that I have gathered. I never meant to make the onions grow big because I simply want the leaves for my green salad as well as for the soup.

1.jpg

After about 4 weeks I have harvested and cut the leaves, they are still growing even if cut, so I will have chives the whole Summer. The good thing is I can always plant anew the lettuce...so salad is already saved for some months and harvest them so crispy and fresh.

IMG_20210518_192415.jpg

The zucchini newbie I got the other day has to be replanted as well as a 2nd eggplant. I only need to buy soil since I have used the last sack this afternoon.

IMG_20210518_170049.jpg

I also have 1 beefsteak tomato, I had this variety before and they are really huge. I remember I read about this one being used for Burgers in a bun. I also have 2 cherry tomatoes and I have pinched this afternoon some of the unwanted parts below and also pruned the suckers so the main stems would grow stronger and bear many flowers.

IMG_20210518_171549.jpg

IMG_20210518_192420.jpg

This is an elongated type of pepper, It is a sweet variety. I harvest them at their green stage too and if I would like it sweeter, then I let them become red before harvest.

IMG_20210518_192446.jpg

The three tomatoes above... the first two on the left are cherry tomatoes and to the right is the Beefsteak type.

IMG_20210518_173451.jpg

The Raspberry Sucker....

I have repotted the Raspberry below which I took from my potted raspberry from the old house in a 60 liter container. This is one of two suckers that have roots, I gave one to my new neighbor since they have a garden downstairs. I also added the lettuce newbies in the raspberry container. They won´t steal the space of the raspberry bush since they grow so fast and I could harvest them earlier if I need some for my salad.

That´s all for now, I will update on their status next time!

IMG_20210518_175318.jpg

All images in this post were photographed using Huawei Pro lite
and all images are owned by @mers
.

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF credits - @gremayo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency