Peptic Ulcer? Diagnosis Is Very Important - A Must Read

I felt the pain early this morning again, and this time it was more painful!!!
Thank goodness, taking milk rescued me.

pexels-photo-3807730.jpeg
Source

I was diagnosed to have peptic ulcer some months ago and I've been doing research on what it is, it's causes and it's cure... My research haven't been fruitful until today after I felt the pain again. I woke up with a very strong chest pain and I felt like my stomach was on fire.... I tried not to cry hehe, I reached out for my milk to take some and the pain subsided.

For one who doesn't want to go through such pain again, I found myself browsing through the net to find out about anything relating to ulcer pain at bedtimes (the pain started very early in the morning about 4am). Here is what I found and they are subjected to any more guidance or advice.

A surprising thing I learnt about ulcer is that ulcer can also require surgery... That's very new to me.

By the way, it was stated clearly that knowing the cause of the ulcer is very important before taking medications.

pexels-photo-5327584.jpeg
Source

  • A bacteria called H. Pylori can be the cause which is gotten from an infected person or infected food.

  • Regular taking of medications that contain aspirin and other acid giving drugs can be the cause.

Ulcer could be as a result of too much acid in the stomach or an infection by bacteria and so, their treatments varies.

I learnt that there are drugs to eliminate the bacteria from my stomach (I was diagnosed to have H. Pylori) and I've written the drugs down to check out if I could get them and relieve myself from the pain soon.

Some of the drugs mentioned were:

  • Bismuth subsalicylate (for example, Pepto-Bismol) and the antibiotics tetracycline and metronidazole, amoxicillin, Clarithromycin, omeprazole (Prilosec, Prilosec OTC)

I plan on doing more research on those medications and get them. I was also cleared that there are possibilities of those medications being inactive and that is if "The diagnosis was incorrect". One has to be sure of the kind of ulcer through diagnosis before taking medications.

For ulcers caused by acid giving medications, acid blocking medications are required and a smoker needs to stop smoking to reduce the acid in the stomach.

pexels-andrea-piacquadio-3807733.jpg
Source

The most dangerous symptom of Ulcer is abdominal pain and vomiting blood, that would be as a result of the acid damaging an artery that gives blood to the ulcer, surgery is required at this stage according to research.

I won't be getting to this stage so long I get to know more about the medications to take and start treatment as soon as possible to be healthy without any pains.

Just An Addition Here

  • There are no specific meals to cure ulcer but I learnt that Jack fruits help to cure ulcer, that fruit isn't easy to come by in my part of the world.

  • No fear about ulcer as it isn't life threatening, it may not be totally cured but you could be free from its pains and drama when treated accordingly.

I would appreciate more contributions to this, the comment section is open for you.

Thanks for reading!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency