GINKGO BILOBA And PIRACETAM NOOTROPIC REVIEW

About a year ago, I was recommended to take Ginkgo biloba by someone I met on steem and @mountainjewel. It was random advice I got that got me wondering, What's the benefit of this plant? prior to that, I was already taking gotu kola [pennywort ] which I found to be effective as well with managing my stress. Except that it makes me drowsy and sleep more than I should. It also helps me focus but excessive consumption leads to drowsiness. Overall the day is more pleasant than usual. I perform better at school, work or social functions. I also feel more relaxed and less stressed. More energy and more hyperactive.. However , I only got my hands on ginkgo biloba two days ago.


image.png

I got a ginkgo biloba from a company called "Black Mores" . They sell various supplements including ginkgo with 40mg. It's pretty expensive for my wallet but I'd do anything to improve myself and my social skills. But before I decided to take Ginkgo Biloba, I did what I had to do, research.

I don't like trying something without research beforehand. Apparently, I found some solid research about the combination of Piracetam and Ginkgo Biloba. A research by Hayder M. Alkuraishy, et al mentions that Combined effects of piracetam and Ginkgo biloba produced more significant effects on psychomotor performances and working memory functions in healthy young subjects than either Ginkgo biloba or piracetam alone in healthy young subjects. However, the emphasizes for me should be on healthy young subject, which I am not. This paper also uses 60mg and 4 days trial. Thus far, I am still in my second day.

From my experience, I don't feel significant change yet. My regime of 1600mg/day piracetam is still going. Though to be honest, I was off from it about several months ago.

Another study, that's not related to healthy young patients is conducted by Hélène Amieva, et all that mentioned the combination of piracetam and ginkgo reports that Cognitive decline in a non-demented elderly population was lower in subjects who reported using EGb761® than in those who did not. This effect may be a specific medication effect of EGb761®, since it was not observed for another nootropic medication, piracetam.. The EGb761 is the term to refer to the Ginkgo biloba extract. This research use elderly who don't have dementia. However apart from these two research, there is not much research about the combination of ginkgo and piracetam.

Personally, I do feel more well-rested and alert. After taking it for 2 days, the only real significant impact I feel is my tolerance to stress. I am not constantly in a somber mood which is a good thing. I also can sleep more soundly without a nightmare. It seems like I can focus on real thing instead unnecessary junk. So, that's also a good thing. However, I am not quite sure about my memory. I have to test it out later.

Thus far, this combination seems very promising. I wonder if anyone has the same experience using ginkgo biloba. Let me know in the comment section.

Reference

[1] Hayder M. Alkuraishy, Ali I. Algareeb, Ali K. Albuhadilly and Basim M. ALmgoter, “Modulation Effects of Piracetam and Ginkgo biloba on the Cognitive and Working Memory Functions: Psychometric Study”, Current Psychopharmacology (2014) 3: 87. https://doi.org/10.2174/221155600302150302105355
[2] Hélène Amieva ,Céline Meillon,Catherine Helmer,Pascale Barberger-Gateau,Jean François Dartigues."Ginkgo Biloba Extract and Long-Term Cognitive Decline: A 20-Year Follow-Up Population-Based Study: Published: January 11, 2013https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0052755

~ Signing out.


Mac is a freelance writer based in South East Asia. She specializes in Technology,Management, Productivity, Minimalism, How-to Articles, Reviews, Travel, Food and Lifestyle. Other than those, she dabble in other various interests, including cryptocurrency and art. If not writing, she can be found cooking or coding.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency