Preparing the Crop for the Month of September

On August 6, I prepared the new Sweet Potatoes to be planted by cutting off the old branches and soaking them in water to take root. On August 10, I prepared "Christophine" or "SAYOTE" in the Philippines to continue to take root. And when everyone is ready, I'll move it to their container.

Right now, I first need to sort and arrange the dry leaves and branches in my garden. I also need to fix the arches for "Christophine" or "SAYOTE".

I will have to wait more than two weeks before transplanting my new plants that are in season. I first need to prepare the planting soils and make sure the soil is fertile. I will start tilling the soil this coming Thursday, August 19. I will gradually clean up first.

The Christophine or "SAYOTE" in the Philippines

This SAYOTE is easy to survive if the weather is in the right climate. It should not be too hot and not too cold. So if you notice in the picture, there's a little bit of it hanging over. I bought it at the supermarket and I wrapped it in plastic to moisturize a bit and root!

When it took root, I prepared the small plastic pot to move it. And underneath it, if you can see are finely shredded woods.

So far, what I don't know is if I split it in two will it survive so? I do this gardening without looking or searching on google. I do this gardening according to my experience and observation of the climate of a place, like here in the middle east. This SAYOTE is like a sweet potato that is easy to live with, you just need to keep it wet.

One of the things that Filipinos love to put in their foods is Sayote. It's an all-around vegetable whose name in English eludes most Filipinos. In English, it could be translated as Christophine, Cho-Cho, Mirliton, Pear Squash, or Vegetable Pear. Many types of cooking can be done with this SAYOTE. It can be mixed with freshly wrapped vegetables.

The Sweet Potato

As I said, I cut an old branch and root it by dipping it in canned water. The advantage of dipping sweet potato in canned water is that the tin will rust, which the plant needs. You can see in the picture that the sweet potato branch has small sprouts already. It is only 4 to 6 days submerged in water but it has sprouts and roots.

Sweet potatoes are really easy to survive as long as they have water. Maybe tomorrow or next week I will harvest and I will remove the old sweet potato branches and replace them with new ones. I will update you all in the next few days when I have harvested.

The Location for the Plants

Do you see these dry leaves in the picture? This is what I planted with Bitter Gourd which is now dry. I will remove that and replace the arches with a strong trunk for SAYOTE to crawl.

I just need to dig the soil first and mix it with crushed eggshells and crushed dried leaves, then I need to water it for 1 week so that the eggshell and dried leaves can easily soften and penetrate the soil.

It’s a lot of work, I think I need to ask my boss for 3 days' leave? Hahaha... This is how I love planting, I still need to tell my boss that I will take a vacation for 3 days. Hahaha...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency