A Simple Way To Make An Infused Herbal Oil Salve

IMG_2714.jpg

Preceding Note Of Absence Explanatory Explainingness: It's both state fair season and harvest time round these parts. That I am even sitting down now is a small miracle, and as I refuse to post fecal matter posts in general, I am instead typing italicized words of lack of post regret and such. That said, I move to the fairgrounds this Wednesday, so the end is nigh!

The other day when I was on my almost weekly hike with a couple of dear friends, one of my pals piped up with an inquiry as to when I might be making my salve again. This particular friend has psoriasis and apparently the salve I gave her a couple of years ago really helps with the ailment. She went on to say that she was rationing what was left, as it was almost gone.

I know a hint when I hear one.


So, I made a note in my massive notebook of Kat get-r-doneness and told her I'd let her know when the salve was done.

Well, I finally got around to finishing the glorious balm.

Now, on the farm here I have a few hundred lavender plants, so lavender is almost always present in whatever salve or infused oil I make as I tend to have a surplus of the stuff laying about. So, I knew lavender was in the original salve, as was comfrey, as I tend to have a plethora of that herb hanging around the house in bundles too.

My mantra is KISK, as in Keep It Simple Kat. I've found that a straightforward, simple composition of high quality ingredients made with an attention to method and detail is most definitely my jam. As much as I get excited about the latest trendy herb in my reading, I just don't want to take the time or money to amass a stockpile of all the herbs in existence, when my simple lavender and comfrey salve does the trick.

I'm most definitely lazy, and that's okay with me.

Anyway, in order to make my friend some salve, I had to infuse some oil. Now, a few years ago I got a mosquito in my ear canal about how long it takes to naturally infuse herbal oil. Sometimes I am not patient, and yes, I know that is a character flaw. So, I did a bunch of research about heat and chemical compounds and extraction of properties and stuff. It was then that I started infusing my herbal oils in my crockpot.

I am pretty sure that I did a post of the method that I use to infuse my oils. I'll have to post a link to that someday. Suffice it to say, that you can put a tablespoon of dried herbs for every ounce of carrier oil into your crockpot and in a couple of hours you will have a marvelous infused oil. (Okay, you all twisted my arm, I will do an updated post of that process soon.).

Anyway, after infusing my lavender and comfrey into some Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil, I strained the oil and got about to the business of making my super simple yet effective (at least on psoriasis) salve. Oh and it also works on cracked, dried out hands. My boss told me that as I tend to give out salve as Christmas presents.

IMG_2698.jpg

Sorry, I diverted. After straining the oil, I wandered to my big bathroom closet and got out my digital scale, some beeswax pellets, and a bottle of lavender essential oil. This particular batch of salve was special as it was going to be the first batch I ever made with my own farm distilled lavender EO. SQUEE.

IMG_2700.jpg

Moment of homesteader levity elapsed, I strolled back to the kitchen and got out my super high tech double boiler apparatus. I'm just kidding. I got out a small stainless steel pan and a larger stainless steel pan. I then put a couple cups of water into the little pan and placed the larger pan on top of it before turning on the burner to low-medium heat. Yes, I am a bit on the cheap side.

IMG_2701.jpg

I had 12 fluid ounces of infused oil, so that meant I needed 1.5 ounces of beeswax in order to achieve the salve I wanted to craft. If you are vegan you can use an emulsifying wax (derived from plant fatty acids) in place of the beeswax. Using my digital kitchen scale I weighed out the beeswax and chucked it into my improvised double boiler with the infused oil.

IMG_2705.jpg

Fun fact, most kitchen science things should never be hurried. I was an overheating article of daftness in my youth due to inexperience and impatience, so don't be like younger Kat and take your time melting your beeswax. What I mean is that you want to slowly heat your oil and beeswax. Dance and sing a bit while you wait. Or play with the two kittens in your house by running a laser pointer around the kitchen. Er....

IMG_2708.jpg

Once the beeswax is thoroughly melted, remove your salve from the heat and add your essential oil. Some people put in liquid Vitamin E as a preservative, but I have found that properly stored anhydrous mixtures (salves and such) keep just fine and are used before they would ever turn rancid. That and I didn't have an Vitamin E on hand.

IMG_2710.jpg

After mixing in the EO you just pour your salve into jars or tins and let it cool. That's it! Salve City! Now, you can get extra fancy and adjust your salve's consistency by tweaking your oil and beeswax ratios, the recipe I have here is really just a starting point, as every human on this spinning rock has a preference when it comes to everything. Some want a harder salve, some softer, me, I like it with some density but still scoopable, but the whole point of making your own anything is to experiment and tailor your crafted goods to the way you want them.

IMG_2712.jpg

And on that note, happy salve making!!


Infused Oil Salve

12 fluid ounces of herbal infused oil (I used a combo of comfrey and lavender infused olive oil)
1.5 TBSP beeswax pellets (or emulsifying wax)
15-30 drops of essential oil (I used lavender EO)
Glass jars or salve tins

Put infused oils and beeswax in a double boiler. Heat on low heat, stirring occasionally until wax is melted. Add essential oil and stir. Pour into glass jars or salve tins and cool completely. Store your salve in a cool, dry place and it will last from 1-3 years.


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's still somewhat salve covered and yet to recover iPhone.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency