New chicks on the block!

This picture with the little chick in my hands was the last one of this post, that I wrote 10 months ago. I told you back then how I put a dozen eggs in the incubator the same day one of our hens started hatching another dozen and when they all hatched I mixed them under the hen's nest so that they all have a caring mother to bring them up. This specific chic was the only one that was rejected from the hen and after escaping death (more than once) I took it back home. A few days later another hen's eggs were hatched and I slipped it under her nest, this time with great success!

5bEGgqZEHBMe6s3wiPgGFTi3naqHERgdwJew6rJYRaB3RR7sSAdZKnpKsEWbFhsPY9dDcJxfUjt1kgRDJf1kPYHggyA7q3En.jpg

Today this chic that entered the coop in such a turbulent way is the beautiful hen in the picture below and she just hatched ten adorable chicks herself!

IMG_2384.jpg

The funny detail is that 3 weeks ago she sat hatching in an empty nest :)
So I moved her in another nest and put 13 eggs under her. I guess first-timers face problems even in the animal kingdom!

I can't tell you how proud I am for this creature! One might say that it is just a hen but I can still remember the beating of her tiny heart when I saved her and she will always be a very special hen for me!

IMG_2389.jpg

IMG_2387.jpg

IMG_2395.jpg

IMG_2397.jpg

IMG_2392.jpg

I will probably take a lot of pictures of the newborns but I wanted to share those few first shots and my joy today! There is also a small video clip below that I took with my phone when I first saw them!


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency