Got the scrog netting in!


image5.jpg

It begins...

break.png

Well, I am happy to report that I have successfully mainlined all of my quad grape plants now and they are all doing well. Mainlining is a technique of cutting the main stem of your cannabis plants to prevent them from growing upwards as much and to force the plant to make several large colas instead of just one.


image6.jpg

It makes the plants push more nutrients to all of its branches instead of focusing it all to stretch taller. This creates bushier plants and a lot more node sites across the branches that is has. As you can see in the image above, my plants are pretty bushy as they are and they need something to get all of that under control.


image1.jpg

That is where the scrog netting comes in handy. I will be able to bend the different branches through the first level of netting and force the plants to grow out sideways a bit more, making an even canopy where the light is better used by the plants.


image3.jpg

So for the next couple weeks, I will be bending the different branches around and pushing them up into the empty slots on the netting. The branches recover after about a day and start reaching upwards again after they have been bent over. Cannabis is a pretty versatile plant in that way. As long as you don't stress it too much, it is pretty hardy and does well.


image0.jpg

After I got the netting in at first, I noticed that I had the top level of the netting in, so I needed to remove it and switch it out with this other one above where the squares are a lot smaller and there are more of the, which allows for more branches to be put into the different spaces.

Once the plants are further into flower, I will be putting the top level netting in and that one will provide support for the weight of the buds, which will lessen the strain on the plant and in hopes that it will allow the plant to make larger buds. This is my first time using a scrog net, so hopefully it works out. The challenge I am going to be facing soon is watering because I won't be able to move the plants around in the tent because the branches are all going to be entwined in the netting. So hopefully I am doing it correctly. If not, I can just scrap the whole idea of the net if things get too out of control.

But overall, I am pretty excited about this grow. I have been doing a lot more training at the early stages so hopefully it pays off down the road with a nice yield. @bifbeans, who created this strain was able to get about two pounds of cannabis from four plants, but without knowing all of the nutrients and the schedule they used, I will be happy to get at least a pound. It would be cool to get upwards of two, but I don't think I will achieve that.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency