Using natural medicine to create a very tasty snack- great for the heart. Great for the wasitline and even better for the mental health

So in the title I made a pretty big statement some might say- especially when they read the end where I say and even better for the mental health.

And this is the reason that I'm posting this recipe- essentially an experiment with food, to create the tastiest, fastest snack yet, in this community. Because this community is all about natural medicine and what better natural medicine than to be able to activate therapy for your mental health than by being able to step into the kitchen, completely unhindered by time, humans, Covid, and by cooking convention to create your own delicious, fast snack AND by using ingredients that are scientifically proven to help brain health, heart health and overall well being.

So some of you might know me as a serious chocoholic- I'm talking about the type of chocoholic that should be going to AA, oops I mean CA..lol.🀣..and really, it's all in a name isn't it...πŸ˜‚

So I have a problem with chocolate...well no.... I don't have a problem with chocolate, but my heart and general health (and definitely waistline) do...so I decided to give myself what I want (chocolate) and what I need (chocolate), but in a much more healthy way.

So by using a range of fruits, nuts, oats and a few other goodies, I made completely vegan chocolate balls and bon bons (well at least that's what I'm calling them anyway...)

IMG_0175.png

They may not look too pretty, but they taste fantastic and are very handy to eat on the run aswell as being full of nutritional ingredients.

IMG_0177.png

So first off I started with some pitted Prunes to use instead of sugar. And according to many health experts Prunes are a good source of both insoluble and soluble fiber. Dried plums also contain sorbitol and chlorogenic acid, which can increase stool frequency.

The antioxidants and anti-inflammatory properties of prunes may help prevent bone loss and aid in maintaining healthy bone density and formation,

Prunes are rich in antioxidants, especially two caffeoylquinic acids β€” neochlorogenic acid (3-caffeoylquinic acid) and chlorogenic acid (5-caffeoylquinic acid). These may help to lower your blood glucose and LDL cholesterol levels (β€œbad cholesterol”), while protecting your cells from the damage that can lead to diseases.

And you can read the rest of that great info here https://www.webmd.com/diet/prunes-health-benefits#1

IMG_0147.png

I used melted Nuttelex Nut butter instead of Cow's butter and blended it with the prunes to form this uh, 'interesting' paste. 🀣 And according to many health experts β€œBy using nut butters in cooking or adding them to meals or snacks, you are automatically boosting the nutrient level of your food,” says Hohaia. β€œThe combination of healthy fats, good protein and dietary fibre helps support nerve function, keeps blood sugar levels stable, allows healthy hormone production, improves digestion, protects cell membranes and assists with weight loss.”

Please read the rest of that great info here https://www.naturalhealthmag.com.au/content/health-benefits-nut-butters

IMG_0148.png

Then I used some store bought museli which have a variety of fruits and nuts.
And according to numerous health experts Museli contains a combination of ingredients such as oats, nuts and seeds, muesli offers substances such as healthful lignans, antioxidants and omega-3 fatty acids. Lignans are associated with medicinal use against breast, prostate, colon and ovarian cancer. Antioxidants and omega-3 fatty acids are useful for fighting heart disease.

And you really should read the rest of that article here https://healthfully.com/what-is-muesli-good-for-8128243.html

IMG_0154.png

Then I mixed raw cocoa powder into that paste- to create a very tasty paste...and raw cocoa powder according to many health experts is very low in Cholesterol and Sodium. It is also a good source of Protein, Potassium and Zinc, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Copper and Manganese. https://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/sweets/5471/2 PLUS being Rich in Polyphenols and so many other great nutrients AND PLEASE, PLEASE do yourself a favour and read this seriously tasty chocolatey chocolate article on chocolate here for more interesting info on raw unsweetened cocoa powder https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/cocoa-powder-nutrition-benefits

IMG_0150.png

IMG_0153.png

The into the bowl I threw a couple of handfuls of each type of museli, plus dried Cranberries for the extra Vitamin C as cranberries contain some vitamin C, which acts as an antioxidant and is important in many critical body functions such as wound healing and protein metabolism. Cranberries also contain vitamin E, a fat-soluble antioxidant, manganese, and vitamin K. and then mixed it all together with my gloved hands. And please read about the goodness of Cranberries here https://www.verywellfit.com/a-reader-inquires-what-about-craisins-2242509

IMG_0155.png

Then I rolled the mix into balls a bit larger than a golf ball.

IMG_0157.png

And as I had a couple of sheets of pastry left over from the Veggie pie that I had baked the night before here..@chocolatescorpi/so-i-did-an-experiment-and-ended-up-with-an-almost-vegan-pie, I used it and made some (very messy looking) Bon Bons

IMG_0160.png

I baked them all for about 15mins and once they cooled, I put them in the fridge cause they just needed a little more...yep, that's right- chocolate...🀣

So I melted some dark cooking chocolate, crushed some Banana chips (with my hammer...πŸ˜†..told you it was great therapy... 🀣...) and blended some Walnuts and banana chips together and mixed it all in a bag with dessicated Coconut to become the crust.

IMG_0174.png

So yes, it was a mess, they look like a mess, they look really REALLY bad for you, but trust me, they're not.

A truly delicious and nutritious snack that really benefits every part of my physical and mental body. And it's not just the nutritional content that is great for me mentally and physically-
it's the knowing, that I'm eating something so healthy too.

It's like when I stopped eating animals back in 2010. Although I don't physically feel that much better (though I'm absolutely sure that I am..), mentally I feel fantastic, because my soul and my spirit feels so much lighter and happier knowing that I am not apart of the systemic cruelty to animals bred for food.

And this is how I feel eating this snack- so that's another way that it is great for the mental health.. (and the use of my hammer on the poor Banana chips too...πŸ˜†πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…...)

And it was also the fact that I was able to cook to the beat of my own drum- I didn't follow a recipe, I didn't follow any measurements, I didn't follow an oven timer, I just used my imagination and commonsense (and nose and tongue...🀣...) and it was total meditation time for me too.

And I will NOT show you the photos of my face either OK. 🀣

Speaking of commonsense, as I don't like wasting ANYTHING- especially power AND food, you'll notice that the chocolate in the bowl is sitting on top of a pot.

Well you should see whats simmering away in that pot...

And that's a post for tomorrow night.

Thanks so much for reading and I hope that you have ago and make this too- for a delicious, refreshing, healthy and CHEAP alternative to commercial snacking stuff like chocolate biscuits...and remember, not only are these tasty bites good for your physical health, but they're also great for your mental health and the environment as there's sweet FA plastic pollution going on aswell as being great for animals too (cause you're not partaking in the exploitation of them)

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

So enjoy and dive into something delicious! like the Ladies of Hive Community...

The Ladies of Hive- your own crypto world girl gang full of fun and suprises, so click on the link to find out more about this brilliant community of caring, companionship and creative contests, such as this one....@ladiesofhive/ladies-of-hive-community-contest-41

Screen Shot 2021-07-25 at 10.22.34 pm.png

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

@hiveaustralia, formerly @teamaustralia check us out now! (cause we're all so damn cool (and usually pretty hot too in more ways than one....πŸ˜πŸ˜†πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜….....and freezing...and wet...and drought stricken...and flooding..and on fire.....) But always such damn cool cats...😁

@hiveaustralia/hellooo-hiveaustralia-the-new-teamaustralia

And unless otherwise stated- ALL photographs, are all my originals taken by me sometime in the past decade or so somewhere in my travels and as such, ofcourse they are subject to all international IP and copyright laws and I may have already used them for my own commercial purposes here https://www.redbubble.com/people/CHOCOLATESCORPI/shop And here https://fineartamerica.com/art/chocolatescorpi, So please ask first if you want to use any of them as we wouldn't want you getting into trouble. Thank you 😊

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency