Sowing day: Strawberries and Squash for the Spring to come.

Hello, everyone on Natural Medicine and all Hive! Today I felt in a good mood and energy to sow some veggies for the next seasons to come. Winter is finally ending in the southern hemisphere, and tomorrow finally we celebrate the coming of the blooming season, the cute spring which is my favorite season here. If you have the opportunity to come to Argentina and Buenos Aires specifically, from October to December is such a good time to do it, because it is sunny all day long, but yet the temperatures are kind and not so hot and humid as in full summer (January, February).

Diseño sin título (5).jpg

I decided to sow some strawberries and also some squashes, a very very popular vegetable here, which for me tastes and looks very similar to the pumpkin but is a little bit sweeter, and the fruit is softer to chop and cook. I hope I am in time to harvest some of the strawberries by the beginning of autumn or maybe in the middle of the summer if they grow fast.

P1070556.JPG

I love strawberries, and ever since I moved here I was thinking about sowing some to have my harvest, and hopefully, I will. I went to the shop to buy some today, and when I came home I started to prepare to put them in their pots.

Recently I watched some videos on youtube about how to plant and take care of strawberries appropriately, so I replicated the way that they sowed them in the video. I'll show you how I made it in the pictures below.

P1070558.JPG

P1070560.JPG

P1070562.JPG

1632170320219.jpg

I peeled the most superficial skin of the strawberries where the seeds are, because in fact strawberries per se are not just fruits, but infructescences, which means that they are a lot of fruits united in one, and by instance, they possess many seeds grouped in the same structure, so to get them all in their own space, I placed the pieces of the skin with the seeds on a cutting board. I ate the remains of the strawberries without seeds, they were delicious, juicy, and fresh.

P1070564.JPG

I had to put the flowerpots on top of some wooden palettes I have because my dear dogs are always messing around with my plants, and if I touch something and plant it, they decide to pull it out and play with it, as a little game I like to call “ruin Cesar’s plants”.

P1070567.JPG

P1070568.JPG

P1070569.JPG

P1070570.JPG

I placed the pieces of the strawberries on top of the flowerpots, and then covered it with more soil, and then added some water to make it wet.

P1070571.JPG

P1070572.JPG

My boyfriend was going to prepare a squash soup, so I went to take the seeds from the squash, by chopping them in half, and then the lower part of the fruit again in half, where the seeds were. I took the seeds with a spoon and then went to the backyard to plant them.

P1070577.JPG

P1070578.JPG

P1070579.JPG

P1070580.JPG

In the back of the Garden, I have this square space that was full of bad weed and one big lettuce when I came here. I decided to remove all the weed but kept the lettuce because she is charming. The space was free and This is where I chose to plant the squash, so I placed the seeds in there, and then added some more soil, covering the seeds, and then a lot of water to moisturize the whole space.

P1070583.JPG

P1070584.JPG

P1070585.JPG

P1070586.JPG

My job was done for today, and now I have more plants to pay attention to and to take care of, what I like because it distracts me, keeps me busy, present, and committed to achieving my goals, which in this case would be to obtain nice and healthy fruit in some time.

I hope you liked the pictures and the post, and if you got here, Thank you very much for reading and for your time. Have a wonderful Spring or autumn wherever you might be.

Greetings to all.

César.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency