Boiled cassava, steamed broccoli, and some soy croquettes for lunch with iced green tea and lemon.

Hello everybody! I hope that you’re all having a wonderful week. So far my week has been quite busy, I am planning to move out of my actual department with my partner so we are starting the engines and getting close to the day of the moving. In the meantime, life is good, and while working from home, I like to take breaks to cook, and to do things around the house like cleaning, laundry, and so on. Today I decided to make lunch, and as always I took a look at the vegetables we had available and in line for use because I usually buy a lot of vegetables gradually over the days and then we try to eat them in the order they need to be used to avoid them to rot.

The vegetables I used today to make lunch were Broccoli, some cassava, half carrot, an onion, and garlic. On top of that, I also used some textured vegetable protein, or “soy meat”, rice flour, soy sauce, pink Himalayan salt, and some sesame seeds. The result of this was boiled cassava, Steamed Broccoli, and some soy croquettes.

Diseño sin título (3).jpg

P1070169.JPG

The first thing I did was to wash and process the vegetables, starting with the cassava, and I realized that this vegetable gets bad so quickly that half of it was in bad condition already and I left only the good parts to cook, adding them to boiling water for about 30 minutes.

On top of the boiling water with the cassava, I put the broccoli on some metal rack that I use to steam the food, for the same amount of time that the cassava was in the boiling water.

P1070171.JPG

P1070173.JPG

P1070175.JPG

I filled another pot with water and added the textured protein, for it to hydrate. Consequently, I grated the carrot, the onion, chopped the garlic in small pieces, and added all of this to the pot with the soy meat. Once this mix boiled for around 20 minutes, I took it out of the pot by straining it and then placed it in a bowl, where I spiced it up with some herbs like parsley, pepper, soy sauce, some mustard, some sesame seeds, and cumin.

P1070176.JPG

P1070177.JPG

P1070179.JPG

P1070180.JPG

P1070181.JPG

Then, I added ¾ cup of rice flour to the mix, and once I had integrated it, this formed a dough. On a hot pan that I covered with some drops of oil, I placed a bunch of the dough, spreading it on the whole surface of the pan so that it was flat and rounded. I cooked this dough for about 7-10 minutes on each side at medium flame, and the result was some tasty soy croquettes.

P1070183.JPG

P1070185.JPG

Because the whole experience of eating is not complete without a drink, I decided to prepare one of my favorite drinks of all time, iced green tea with lemon, and I will show you again how I make this.

First I peeled a whole lemon, blended it with a glass of water, and then strained it.

On a cup aside, I added two teabags of my favorite green tea, and adding boiling water to it, I waited for around 5-10 minutes until the green tea was done. Then, I mixed it with the lemon juice I had made before and put it in the freezer to cool down a lot. Served with some ice, sweetened with stevia, this iced green tea is refreshing, energizing, sweet, sour, and very stimulating, so I highly recommend it.

P1070186.JPG

P1070187.JPG

P1070188.JPG

P1070189.JPG

P1070191.JPG

P1070219.JPG

Once I took the boiling cassava and the steamed broccoli, I served it on a dish along with the croquettes, and I was ready to eat, not before asking my mate to take some pictures of me to share it here with you all. He was just compulsively clicking on the camera without warning and saying funny things so I was laughing hard.

P1070195.JPG

P1070197.JPG

If you took the time to read and check on this post I appreciate that a lot, so thank you and I hope you liked it, maybe if this food is something you think you would eat, try it and tell me how it went.

I say bye for now and greetings to everyone in Natural Medicine and the rest of Hive, until the next occasion!

César.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency