Tempura Lion Mane mushroom taco with sweet miso glaze

This is my post into this week's Plant based cooking challenge.

I am making lion's mane mushroom tempura, with miso glaze. I have chosen tempura as the main feature and miso as the other.

I decided at the last minute to make tacos out of them and add some mango cucumber salsa to Mexicanize it for a fusion Asian Mexican thing. I always call it con-fusion for fun.

DSC_3801.jpg

last week I managed to find some lions mane mushroom which is new in my life. They were the perfect meaty thing to tempura. I just turned "tempura" to a verb.

I didn't have time to cook them right away so I put them in the freezer.

DSC_3417.jpg

When I took them out they were no longer white. That's okay because I would drench them in tempura batter. They were not damaged any other way. I squeezed the water out before I dipped them. I also coated them in tapioca flour that was in my cupboard. I ran out of cornstarch.

DSC_3752.jpg

Tempura batter
1 cup all purpose flour
3 tablespoons cup tapioca flour
2 tablespoons rice four
1 vegan egg replacement (I used a store bought mix)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup or more of soda water
Ice water
salt to taste

Most vegan tempura batters call for cornstarch but I simply didn't have any so I used tapioca and rice.

I added the soda which I had on ice, but gradually until I got the consistency I was looking for. I wanted it to stick but not be too thick.

DSC_3812.jpg

The oil has to be a certain temperature, but I don't own a thermometer and somehow don't like the idea. I don't know why.

I just used my instincts and tested the oil by doing individual pieces adjusting the temperature.

DSC_3753.jpg

DSC_3756.jpg

For the miso glaze I used around 2 tablespoons miso, 3 tablespoons tamari, 1 tablespoon maple syrup. 2 tablespoons cane sugar, 3 tablespoons mirin, 1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar, 3 cloves garlic, 1 teaspoon minced ginger.

DSC_3762.jpg

After browning the garlic add the liquids and sugar. Bring to a boil then simmer until thick. Strain in a fine sieve.

DSC_3767.jpg

For the tacos I used tortilla flour. I added 1 cup of tortilla flour to 1 cup warm water mixing and setting aside.

After I made golf ball size balls rolling them out as thin as possible then cutting out with a bowl. I don't bother with a tortilla press. You can just buy them as well. I just prefer the taste of the homemade ones.

DSC_3731.jpg

DSC_3777.jpg

I toasted sesame seeds to sprinkle on top. I feel this could belong to any nation's cuisine.

DSC_3773.jpg

I made a quick salsa with fresh mango and cucumber, adding lime juice salt and small hot red peppers. Normally it would be jalapeno pepper but this in Asian Mexican fusion so I used Asian style peppers. I like them because they are hotter.

DSC_3782.jpg
I squeezed lime juice to add to the Mexican and Asian flavors. South Asia uses quite a bit of lime, as well as in Mexico which makes a perfect fusion. The miso is more of the Japanese thing which usually doesn't involve lime but instead uses mirin, rice wine, vinegar or rice wine.

DSC_3809.jpg

DSC_3780.jpg

Living in Canada, means many cultures may collide at some point. This is one of them.

DSC_3789.jpg

Have a great day folks and thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency