Salad with apples, lentils and cranberry vinaigrette -Plantbased cooking challenge

DSC_2985.jpg

This week's plant power cooking challenge includes choices of ingredients of which I chose apples and cranberries. I also threw in some onions which was one of the choices. I always use onions anyway.

This is my take on the classic Waldorf salad which usually includes apples and grapes. I have substituted the grapes for cranberries. The classing dressing for this salad is mayo. I find it extremely unappealing to use mayo as a dressing. I guess that's why I never got excited about the Waldorf back when people still ate it.

Since I have frozen cranberries in the freezer waiting until the next festive holiday, I decided to get them out and make a vinaigrette from them.

DSC_2958.jpg

Cranberry vinaigrette

1/2 cup boiled frozen or fresh cranberries
1/2 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons balsamic glaze
4 tablespoons maple syrup
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
pepper
salt to taste

After boiling and simmering the cranberries until they are soft, add to blender with the other ingredients. I strained it in a fine strainer for extra smoothness.

DSC_2964.jpg

Salad ingredients

2 apples sliced or diced
1 medium red onion
2 cups cooked lentils
1/2 cup toasted walnuts
1/2 cup dried cranberries

DSC_2996.jpg

When cooking the lentils make sure that they are cooked but not too soft. The dressing will make them softer. You want to be able to bite them rather than have a mushy lentil like a soup.

DSC_2976.jpg

Because apples and cranberries remind me of autumn and winter dinners, I added some dried sage to the salad. Sage is an herb that can survive the cold. Yes I know that it is July but there are a few random cold days here in Canada, despite what the news reports about Canada burning up. I always carry a sweater with me. It's just not true what they say. Canada has always had scorching hot summers. Believe me I know. I have lived here for many decades. In fact it's less hot overall, then I remember.

DSC_2983.jpg

I am thankful that I have access to certain items right now. I know there are folks around the world that are in trouble and have limited supplies. I do not take any of these privileges for granted.

DSC_2985.jpg

I wish you all peace and give thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency