Plantbased black bean seitan pepper steak with dandelion greens

DSC_4651.jpg

This week for hive top chef we were given some choices which I chose black beans as the main ingredient. I always have dried and canned black beans in the cupboard.

I make seitan (vital wheat gluten) differently almost every time. This time I used black bean. I didn't have time to soak and cook dried beans so I used a can

DSC_4547.jpg

Black bean seitan
1 can black beans or two cups cooked black beans
3 to 3 1/2 cups vital wheat gluten
1 cup chopped onion
4 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 cup or more of vegetable broth or water
1 teaspoon tomato paste
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon black pepper
2 or 3 drops liquid smoke
1 teaspoon nutritional yeast

DSC_4558.jpg

Saute the onions and garlic then add to black beans and other ingredients except for vital wheat gluten. Put in a blender and blend until smooth. Mix the blended bean mix to a bowl with the wheat gluten. Slowly add the wheat gluten until you can make a dough.

DSC_4561.jpg
I sometimes boil the seitan in vegetable broth, but this time I steamed it. It's a toss up for me. I knew I would be turning it into steak and adding gravy.

DSC_4571.jpg

Cook it for around one hour. I left in in a little longer because I was busy. It really swells up almost double.

DSC_4578.jpg

Cut steaks to a desired thickness. I did it fairly thin.

DSC_4592.jpg
After coating with black pepper I grilled it on an electric grill.

DSC_4599.jpg

Meanwhile I made a dandelion greens saute. I love the bitterness and roughage of it. I usually pick my own when I can but it's not possible these days. I am in the city and there aren't many dandelions right now. I purchased some cultivated dandelions from the local super market.

DSC_4579.jpg

This was done simply by cooking red onion, red bell pepper, salt and pepper vegetable broth, a little flour to thicken and a little soy cream.

DSC_4600.jpg

I made a mushroom gravy by cooking 3 shallots minced in a dollop of vegan butter, a pint of mushrooms, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, 2 cups vegetable broth or you could use vegan beef broth, a splash of wine, black pepper, thyme. Taste and add as you go. Add a tablespoon of potato starch or flour mixing until smooth.

DSC_4589.jpg

At the end I added green onions after I blended the gravy with a hand blender.

DSC_4591.jpg

Marc was saying how hungry he was today so this was the thing to shut him up.

DSC_4667.jpg

Around seven years ago we worked in a steakhouse. I was eventually offered to train on the grill. It's the last thing I would have wanted. There were so many cuts of steaks and a different doneness. It would have been too high stress. After this we quit and stopped animal products all together.

DSC_4657.jpg

I always thought when people ordered a well done steak that they deep down inside didn't want meat. I was the same when I was younger but at some point I opted for a medium rare.

Too much meat talk for a plantbased post. Sorry.

DSC_4645.jpg

This was so filling for me. I can't imagine being hungry again.

DSC_4664.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency