SUNSHINE LAUNDRY GEL

IMG_4276.JPG

I love laundry. Really. I love it. I love washing dirty clothes. I love hanging clean, damp washing. I love sleeping in crispy clean sheets. I love putting on clothes that smell of sunshine. Here's the secret. I make my own laundry powder and gel. It's 100% natural. It's 100% organic. And the bonus? Not only is it really easy to make but it's inexpensive. My family's clothes are clean and they last longer as there is no chemical damage which store bought laundry powders cause. Another plus is that my BuckarooBabies can learn chores the fun way. The homeschooling way. They love helping weigh out, grate and bottle the laundry powder or gel. Today; it's Sunshine Laundry Gel!

IMG_4274.JPG

Have you ever considered the effects of regular laundry detergents? The chemical formulas in cleaning products harm your laundry, the environment (via the escaping grey water) and gradually build up in your body through residual contact with your skin. Apart from the chemical residue I can't stand the synthetic smell of commercial products. My go-to for natural products is always essential oils - for wonderful smell and their healing properties. My favourite for laundry is Lemon essential oil. A lot of it!

IMG_4273.JPG

If there's a natural alternative - I want to know about it. Make it. Apply it. So I'm going to share my little piece of sunshine with you. You will need three ingredients only. Boiling water, your natural laundry soap and essential oils. As I mentioned I use Lemon. Not only does the zesty Lemon smell permeate the washing, but Lemon essential oil has powerful antibacterial properties and breaks down fatty residue. Each attribute is vital for a good wash.

image.png

For the laundry soap I use boerseep. This is afrikaans meaning the soap of the farmer. Perfect name, isn't it? Other countries will have different options. For me (especially as I make my own boerseep) this is the best there is. Boerseep is made by saponifying tallow with water and is readily available as laundry bars in South Africa. However castille soap is just as effective in laundry gel.

image.png

NATURAL LAUNDRY GEL RECIPE:
2 litres boiling water
1/2 cup grated boerseep (natural laundry soap bar)
Essential oils (lemon OR orange OR lavender OR tea tree and rosemary)

Whisk the grated soap into the 2 litres of boiling water until dissolved. Throughout the day, until gel forms, give the liquid a good whisk (every half hour or so). This is IMPORTANT. The soap dissolves quickly but iff you neglect stirring the liquid it becomes horribly snotty - usuable but nasty. The liquid will look like dirty water for a couple hours. And suddenly become thick and white. Once the liquid has become gel add the essential oils. I do it according to smell so I'm very generous with the amount.

image.png

Bottle your lovely laundry gel. Use a quarter to half cup per load - depending on how dirty the washing it. This amazing liquid really goes far. You can also rub a bit into stains or leave clothing overnight in a bucket of water with a dash of the gel. In the morning wash as normal. With babies in cloth nappies and hard working Farm clothes it is important to have a laundry gel that really works. This - really works. It's easy and cost effective to make. And - It's really that simple!

Smell the Sunshine!!

IMG_4089.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency