Kencana Ungu Liar ~ Ruellia tuberosa

SNAPDRAGON ROOT (1).png

It's been a while since I have started using my old Camera, the Nikon Coolpix L830. Maybe it's already two months, I really do not pay attention about the time line due to works. Anyway Nikon Coolpix is a prosumer camera from 2014, so I can not expect something great from it. In fact I should buy a bit expensive smartphone which has better capability in taking some shots.

However I have decided to learn some photography here, and with some help from my friend, @ekavieka, @poplar-22 , and @arveno , I have taken some shots of various objects. The earliest images were so bad, I had not known how to control the camera. I have another issue to that current cellphones have some AI in image editing, so everything it's kind of automatic.

I This one was from a week ago, I decided to check on my front yard to get some object for my photo shots practices.

DSCN2829.JPG

I found some small bushes, a wild ones. None of my family planted these flowery bushes. It is called KENCANA UNGU LIAR, or in English it is Wild Purple Kencana (Ruellia). The latin name is Ruellia Tuberosa, or some people call it minnie root or Snapdragon Root.

I really do not know why some people call it Snapdragon Root, snapdragon itself comes from Antirrhinum genus, and this one is Ruellia genus. Well it's up to them anyway to call this flower which any name they like.

Earlier I thought some badger or fox came here and their dung made this flowers popping out. However after I googled a while, I learnt that this Ruellia is easily spread out, like a wild bush. from their steem and their seed, so it's kind of pest too.

DSCN2832.JPG

Some of the flowers come in four, such as the above shot. Two have blossomed, while the other two have not yet fully blossomed. I haven't found any flowers which came in more than four set, maybe they are exist but not on my yard.

DSCN2834.JPG

These two were well blossomed too, and soon to be a triplet. I saw that most of them can be blossomed in a pair at the same time. The last one I took that shot to identify which flower it was. Because if you have seen some similar flowers, having to know how their leaves is very helpful to identify the flower.

DSCN2830.JPG

DSCN2831.JPG

I like the Ruellia which comes in singular. It's easier to make take the shot, either with manual focus or using auto focus feature.

Ok that's for today shots. Looking forwards for your inputs here, I hope I could improve my skills and knowledge from you guys.

hive divider - thepeakstudio.png

signature peakd.png

Thank you for visiting my post here. I am learning about photography here and I am open to any kind of feedback and inputs so I could improve my skills and knowledge in photography here.

GearNikon CoolPix L830
2014 Edition, Made in Indonesia
LensNikkor 34 Waide Optical Zoom
4.0 - 136mm 1 : 3 - 5.9
Photo modeManual HDR
FlashOff
Color ToneOff / Normal
EditorCanva Free Version
No Additional Photo Editing / Raw

Credits:

  • Canva : For Free Editing Tools
  • Thepeakstudio : For wonderful hive divider
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency