The Heart(h) of the Home

84885376-B867-40FF-97FE-442A8E64BD47.jpeg

That’s no spelling mistake. Most people would say that the kitchen is usually the heart of the home and depending on the size of that kitchen I would probably agree. The problem is that I moved from a bigger house with a wonderful kitchen that I had designed and installed, to a beach cottage with a teeny tiny kitchen. My kitchen might be functional but it is on no way the heart of our home. We’re the kind of people who eat to survive and don’t place massive value on fancy meals three times a day. Hearty, wholesome food, absolutely & loads of “grab something good on the go”, for sure!

So it’s taken a little shift in mindset to readjust to this cottage. Lockdown didn’t help as everyone seemed to disappear into their own rooms and left little space for hanging out together in the living room. But boy oh boy have we now made a big change!!!

I’ve been excitedly waiting for the day that we would have a fireplace in our lounge / living room. It’s usually one of the coldest spaces in winter and yesterday that all changed when our awesome combustion fireplace was installed.

C0FA4BC6-45C7-491A-8497-5B91986A24F0.jpeg

Now I’m curled up on the couch in the lounge writing to you all with toasty warm toes as the weather downpours with a gale force wind outside. This officially marks a new heart of our home as I’m sure from tonight onwards we’re all going to want to have a spot near the fire to catchup on “Survivor” and some reading. (I recently got my son hooked so we’ve only watched 1 season of survivor and now we’re onto the next one. It’s our THING.)

2BFD0209-2E20-4918-89D9-A63FFEE73B51.jpeg

I had to figure out how to destress the fireplace ie. break it in from the instructions the installers gave me, who knew you had to break in a fireplace??!!? So apparently your first fire should only be a few pieces of kindling that you allow to burn small and then burn out. Next is kindling and 2 logs. And lastly you burn kindling, 2 logs (once charred) add another log or 2 as a HOT fire and then the paint on the cast iron fireplace has been set into place and you’re good to go. I reckon it’s doing the job really well now and the Chihuahuas agree.

C9BEF173-725D-4CB4-BD17-CA5CFB0266B6.jpeg

They’ve got the best spot in the house and I’m pretty sure they won’t move until the Spring…

It’s interesting how something like a fireplace can change a room from just a room to a place where you just want to be whether the TVs on or not. I reckon it’s probably the new homeschool room too!

E38A9DE2-98B2-463A-B9E0-D4B5DC156933.jpeg

I never thought I’d be the one stoking fires, but never say never. My new role is one inspired by a dear friend that wakes up at 6am every morning, starts the fire and puts on the coffee while she enjoys the quiet time in her house before the fullness of the day begins. I’m more likely to rush out the door with a cup of tea at 8am (sleeping late) and then start the fire just as I get back in at 9.10am and hang out on the couch in my workout clothes for the most of the day.

8943C1A6-D067-4C23-9D15-9B740862D9BE.jpeg

Winter is not my favourite season. So I’m learning to find ways to enjoy the season that we’re in and make the most of it. This simple addition has changed my perspective in 24 hours and I LOVE it.

Happy Winter to all my antipodean friends, Love the Saffer!!!

8E2DD7CF-049C-4A99-AFBC-D03DBC796031.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency