Spend Less and Live Better

Hello #Hivers

What's on your mind?

IMG_20201031_124631.JPG

I have some "tips in my pocket" that I'd like to share with you.

As we approach the ending of the year, we all choose to celebrate in different ways, and that's cool! However, here are a few things I'd like to share, as I think that now more than ever, we all need to find ways to spend less and live well.

These are some personal habits of mind:

  • I take stock of my possession, everything around me, and I become extra grateful for what I have, instead of reaching for the next thing.

#GratitudeIsAMust

Too often we make purchases that are not really necessary. Always try to maximise the potential and actualise the purpose of all your prior purchases, before making additional purchases.

#RetailTherapy offers short term fulfilment.

We owe it to ourselves to find happiness from within, tangible possessions should just be accessories to enhance, if totally necessary.

Our attitudes to spending is very important especially in these times. Many have gone into survival modes - nothing to be ashamed of, as it is what it is.

Although we should make savings part of our life, we should make our lives our priority.

But what is "life"?
Do you ever feel like you're just existing?
What are your priorities?
Do you really need that purchase?
Will it make you happier, really?

These are serious questions we need to ask ourselves before we make purchases.


Money Is Like Magic

  • I like to simplify my life, because it makes it easier for me to live within my means. I like it to be just the essentials.

#SimpleLife

_1010492_edited_thie one.jpg

Money: Here one minute, gone the next (MAGIC)


Before I go Shopping

I like to write a list, and I always double check it.

  • Writing a list makes it easier for me to stick to my priorities, as it's so easy to get carried away when we go on our purchases. Too often we fall prey to Merchants Selling Strategies without realising or even giving it second thoughts.

  • The more we spend, the more we have to earn, and as we've all witnessed how rapidly things and circumstances can change, we need to take charge of our lives and apply disciplines.

N.B. If you have an #AgriculturalMindset with an abundance of #MoneyTrees blossoming, then I apologise and understand that this concept would not apply to you. But for #TheOtherHalf like myself, this is crucial.


Budgeting

I'm not an Accountant and I hate #Accountancy - no joke!

However, I cannot disregard the importance of budgeting and prioritising our expenses.

  • Budgeting has many aspects. Of course we always remember the main priorities like rent and utilities, but always incorporate your necessary spending and contingency funds, (I call it emergency money), as we never know what's around the corner.

I hold this topic as a priority - one that can sometimes make us uncomfortable because it makes us feel conscious / guilty, but it's like a reminder for myself too.

I'd like to hear some ways whether it be "tried and tested" over the years, or recently implemented to match the current economic situation of today.

Thanks for reading peeps.

These are just some random thoughts of mine, as I realise that I love drinking red wine, as it's something the doctor recommends #WeekendEngagement, but I've made a conscious decision to purchase a cheaper bottle than my favourite - no labels:)

PS - Let's not get carried away with Online Shopping, which could easily become a bad habit, since we're somewhat limited in freedom of movement.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency