A Brief Touch into the Life's Voyage Piggybacking Disparagements, Dispiritedness and Exquisite Grandeur of Experiences

Hi Hivers! I hope you're all doing well at this moment? Everyone has a sheer stories or encountered experiences (which has actually turned into an unforgettable Memories) to showcase or tell the world and pass on to the children didactically. However, today, I bring you all some of the experiences encountered at the University and how I began to speed up my Poetry Making by improving myself to become a POET


(Flaunting my Old Picture, year 2018)


One of the experiences I had at the University level wasn't that good, but was somehow enjoyable at the same time. But it's so unfortunate that the way the standard of Education in Nigeria is now shaped, isn't helping diverse students at the University level nowadays. Maybe I will have to talk about this in another story someday.



However, becoming an ardent Poet wasn't that easy for me at the beginning. So many times, I have been intimidated and dispirited and called UNSAGE at Poetry Making, and my Poetry has been tromped on for its unvocal voice . I started my Poetry Writing at the age fifteen (15) before gaining admission into the University. Then, my Poetry was driven by sheer encountered experiences and feelings; I only write based on what I experience and what I feel. Fortunately, I was able to show a few friends of mine who tend to venture into Writings, some of them gave me a good feedback, while some outrageously disparaged my Piece calling it all sorts of names. I almost giving up on Poetry not until I met my mentor, Gift Amukoyo (an Author, Poet, Journalist and Prosaist) who always gingers me to continue my Poetry Making despite all the disparagements in the past. And so I decided to break out of the box, extensively writing Poetry uniquely to voice out my encountered experiences, feelings and emotions with the aid of two Languages, English and Yoruba which I commix in my poetry sometimes. My Poetry Making drastically began to expand immensely when I started to get myself more acquainted to other Writer's Poems. I would say that I used to study their ‘poems', ‘techniques' and ‘styles' employ in fleshing up their Poetry. But I ardently keep my feet on ground each day, and my ambitions kept gradually climbing far to the peak. Basically, my ambition to be a great Poet lightened up with rays of hope, the positivity I held unto in hopes that things would get better and fall into places through my efforts and relentless energy, striving to become the best.



Relentlessly, I continued to cross the lines, break barriers, and entered the competitive world with Poetry, and started to gain voice at the University Level. Literally, I don't mean to say my Poetry is the best and now selectable for the world best; it's just a way to say my Poetry grew much better, because of the energy put into it. And so, I decided to put my works into competition at the first year at the University. Fortunately for me, at the first year at the University, I won an Award for the best Literary Work category — Poetry (1st Runner up)



I leapt with joy clinging to my feet, and everything seemed to go well for me, but I didn't take that easy, and I kept the faith burning and the oil of energy breaking was not a wasteful one. That same day, I was lucky to take some pictures with Lola Shoneyin. And the most beautiful thing is, she also had her Education at the same school I graduated from — Olabisi Onabanjo University, and She is married to a medical doctor, Olaokun Soyinka, son of Nobel laureate Wole Soyinka.
Here is one of her pictures in case you haven't come across one


220pxLola_Shoneyin1090630.jpg


Image Source

You can read about this great Writer who is known for one of her published works, The Secret Life of Baba Segi's Wives. You can quickly read about her biography here on Wikipedia. She was our invited guest on the day of the presentations of Rewards. Unfortunately for me, I didn't have a personal picture with her... (so sad 😣)

And at the second year too, I also submitted my poems for competition, I emerged **_the First (1st) Position for the Award of Excellence


IMG20161103WA0013.jpg

IMG_20170727_094458.jpg

IMG_20170727_140339 copy copy.jpg


I decided to merge the pictures together...


Unfortunately, there wasn't any competition at the third year at the University. But the forth year was a splendid and remarkable one. My Poems was selected. It was already my last year at the university (2018). Then, my mind was already on how to get my Project Work done, and get out from the school.


IMG_20180607_1525540 copy copy.jpg

22.JPG

Untitled1  copy.JPG

IMG_20180607_152600 copy copy.jpg


As you can see here, I emerged as the best. And one of the great people I also admire is Hon. Muyiwa Oladipupo. He was our invited guess that day. When they were calling out names that made it to the Top List, I was already tensed and emotionally unbalanced, but later, everything went well for me. I was really glad to be called out as The Best Creative Student in Poetry. I had a great pictures full of sweet memories and blessings. And I really thank God I had the opportunity at Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU) at Ago-Iwoye where my literary works (poetry) first earned me recognition and many awards for the best in
POETRY WRITING at the yearly KOLAJ FESTIVAL.

In the future, I hope for the best, hoping my poems will be read worldwide and be studied at the schools, especially at the Universities...

Thanks for taking your time to read...



Written & Edited by: @martinstomisin (Tomisin Olusola Martins)

Tue 06/10/2020



IF YOU LOVED MY POST, KINDLY REBLOG, COMMENT OR UPVOTE. THANK YOU








Everyone is welcome to PHC

Join the Powerhousecreatives Community here by subscribing to the Community Feed and join us here

First timer? Join the community by signing up here









About Me:

I'm a budding Poet, Photographer and Content Writer. Love Poetry and Photography

I hope to bring positive impact in the life of readers or literary appreciators through my writings.

Follow me @martinstomisin

My Twitter Handle

Cheers!!! ❤️❤️😎😎😍

pBMyo3B2Sao2EbuHAFTX1CNWMbam25xJGPs4sKmLS6XL7kijdAT8d6bGPcvftMLFqpVs2bbd3yVUirikUDyzr2krWUaS2Eetts6827Uu3isQrXUQU4xhMFDBthqHfumE2XjQaAnYetYBjyXLbZ8N1yBLtVkZzPAjgvSwKyrhPndPP4VK.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency