Weekly Roundup No. 2 - My Top Five

weekly roundup 3.png

Our hours turn into days and the days into weeks so quickly that it is almost impossible to fully share our appreciation for all the good things which we experience along the way on a day to day basis, so in the spirit of bringing highlight to the positive, I thought I would start doing a weekly compilation of "My Top Five". This will consist of pretty much ANYTHING that I feel I wish to highlight for the week past (Monday to Friday).

It is always pretty cool to see what "random awesomeness" everyone else has had fall into their sphere for the week, so I welcome YOU too - to create and share a post of your OWN top 5 for the last week - (please go wild and choose your own top 5... there is no need to replicate what I have done!). Friyay seems like a good day to make this a regular thang! Looking forward to seeing what y'all have been up to in the Lifestyle Lounge community feed.

1. MY FAV HOME COOKED MEAL

yyyyyyy55.jpg

And here starts the sound of hypocrisy, lol! I am forever talking about how I never fry anything - but alas - here it is, number ONE on my list for the week, not only a fried meal, but a DEEP FRIED meal, lol! In my defence, the Frikkadels (as we call them here in the deep South of Africa) WERE served with a deliciously healthy veg combo - consisting of blanched baby marrows, carrots and thinly sliced sweet bell peppers and fresh garlic and parsley baby potatoes. My dad was over the moon! As a single man for the better part of his life, I reckon the last time he had a decent frikkadel was when he was still married to my mother.

2. MY FAV DISCOVERY

yyyyyyy9.jpg

For the first time in AGES I was actually able to go out and buy some wine of CHOICE - ie. not whatever was on offer "in the dark of the night" due to our South African alcohol ban. I was in seventh heaven haha! I went straight for the Pinot Noir aisle and right there, on the top shelf it shone and smiled at me simultaneously. "Jayne's Pinot Noir"! I suppose what made it special was the fact that "Janes" with a "Y" in their name is not all that common. It was a cool moment indeed and yes, I bought a bottle despite it ridonculously high price tag. I intend to crack it open when we move into our "soon to be built" house. As a point of interest for any wine lovers out there - I was told that one of her vintages (I suppose remembering the actual year would have been useful right about now) was actually voted the best Pinot Noir in the world... anyhoo, I apologise for my lack of blog efficiency - no doubt Google can solve that problem for anyone who cares enough to go look, lol.

3. MY FAV QUOTE"

Some lessons are best learnt many times over..png

Have talked a lot of crap as well as sense this week but one snippet that stuck was this one...

Some lessons are best learned many times over.

I don't think it requires any further explanation.

4. MY FAV MEAL OUT

yyyyyyy5.jpg

This is probably one of those meals out that I shouldn't brag about - I mean their "poached" eggs literally came out of a fncking microwave mould and their orange juice tasted like it had been mixed with cordial... but in all honesty, I was SO damn hungry when I sat down at that table, I was about ready to gnaw at the damn wood! Food in a pan - always a cool idea and pretty common here in SA - also probably one of the only reasons I accepted this seriously below acceptable "break the fast" experience. I am a snob, I know - deal with it :)

4. MY FAV WINE

yyyyyyy18.jpg

Oh look - MORE WINE! Like I said - it has been a long while since I have been able to actually personally "select" a wine I wanted to drink... so in essence, going to buy the few bottles that I did - was like Christmas for me! Sure, I would LOVE to have cracked open the above mentioned Pinot Noir, but I actually DO have more patience than some assume ;) This VERY smooth Merlot will do the trick for now!

5. MY FAV MOMENT

Untitled.png

This was without question, the visit to the architect to discuss our house plans! Many years ago my eldest brother (the one that actually introduced me to crypto and Hive/Steem) bought a plot in the village of Fisherhaven. It has stood open since he bought it as he continues to live in the UK. So, the plan is to build and then pay him off. I can honestly say that I am beyond excited to get the FNCK out of the city, plant some veggies, wear slip slops on a daily basis and make the most of LIFE!

So... what is YOUR top five for the week?

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

ll.png

JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency