Think like a Viking: Part nine

Viking quotes image (3).png


Where fault can be found, the good is ignored

Reading the Norse Sagas and Edda's around the fire in my long hall whilst sipping mead from a horn-cup always brings me value and relevant meaning; I thought to share some.

I don't actually have a Viking long hall, but I have a fire and mead so it works. Either way, the reading is valuable. Also I'm putting together a fleet to go raiding in Britain so need warriors and shield maidens; if you're interested apply below in the comments. I'm serious, it's happening. Get on it folks, it should be fun.

original im src


This weeks Viking quote

Where fault can be found, the good is ignored. - The Njal Saga

Blame is a very negative thing; it shows a lack of ownership, responsibility and poor character in my opinion. Yes sometimes other people are at fault, are wrong, however blame rarely moves things forward to a resolution, action does. Indeed, blame tends to and roadblocks on the path to results, resolutions and a better state of affairs.

I was inspired to select his week's Viking quote by someone who has let blame consume her; the person has blamed everyone and everything but herself for her failure to push forward and find the results she desires and after months of providing support I've let it go and walked away. She is so blinded by her incessant blame-ethos she can't see anything positive. I can't abide the excuses [only she believes] and the lack of any real action or ownership. People that hold to an entitled attitude irk and repel me. I'm done with this person and told her so a couple days ago.

Playing the blame game, finding excuses, dwelling upon what one can't control and failing to accept one's own failure, resetting then pushing forward towards solutions isn't ever going to move a person forward. It's much easier to blame, shift responsibility, find fault externally and make excuses; it's much more difficult to take ownership, make decisions and take actions that will ultimately move a person forward to where they wish to be - Or closer at least. Maybe that's why people take what seems to be an easier route?

This is what the Viking quote above indicates to me and why I selected it.

If one focuses on the faults, blame and on finding excuses the good that could come from a situation, even one that failed, may easily be lost.

Failure breeds success, moves one closer to it, in my opinion but only when failures are picked apart, the cause of the failure determined, new plans laid and action taken.

Blaming others or external circumstances beyond one's control does none of that...And blaming oneself doesn't do it either; the victim-mentality. Best to take stock, evaluate, strategize, stand up and take the first step forward to new realities and results. Choosing to be a victim will only ever mean you're a victim.

I'm very far from a perfect human; someone called me a beautiful human several weeks back actually but I think I'm not that either. I'm just human and I make mistakes as do all of humanity; it's intrinsic to our being.

I'm very fortunate I've not been one to often lay blame externally though and on the occasions I've blamed myself I've not wallowed in it; Fail, blame, beat myself up a little, feel terrible, then deploy in new directions after strategizing based on what I learned whilst failing. In years past that has paid dividends in moments that counted and in which others relied heavily upon my attitude, mindset, decisions and actions.

We have all laid blame on another person or situation rather than accept it ourselves, reset and seek solutions; we will probably do so again as it's a very human thing to do. I think what matters is to remember that blame is negative and will rarely deliver a desirable result. It wastes time and effort that could be better spent seeking solutions and a solutions-focused ethos and mindset. But what do I know, I'm just a knucklehead.

Now it's your turn...What do you think about the quote above and have you ever been one to lay blame or had it laid upon you?


Edda, Saga and non-written folklore

Copy of Change.png

Original image source, the words are mine. ⬆️


Quote power

Quotes are just words but the words form the collective wisdom of those who came before us and a wise person will seek it, determine how it may relate to them, and embrace it.

Skol.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency