Think like a Viking: Part eight

Viking quotes image (6).png


When truth and fairness are different from what is law, better it is to follow truth and fairness.

I have long read the words of the Norse Sagas and Edda's around the fire in the long hall whilst sipping mead from a horn-cup and seem always to find relevant meaning so thought I'd share some with you.

I don't actually have a Viking long hall, but I have a fire and mead so I'm mostly there. Either way, the reading is valuable. Also, I'm putting together a fleet to go raiding in Britain so need warriors and shield maidens; if you're interested apply below in the comments.

original im src


This weeks Viking quote

When truth and fairness are different from what is law, better it is to follow truth and fairness. - Bandamanna Saga

I recall many times in which I had the opportunity to follow along with others even though in doing so I'd be compromising my own moral compass.

As a young kid it probably happened a lot more than in my mid to late teens and beyond; that was when I began to decide my own path, plotted around my own morals and ethics and found those morals more important than acceptance from others could ever be.

It was then that I began to move against the grain in such cases, even though it isolated me from others - A condition I didn't mind as a shy person anyway. I knew what was right and I went that way.

That ethos followed me into my twenties at a time in life when it would have been much easier to simply go with the flow.

I stood my ground though, maintained my personal integrity and held firmly to my morals often at risk of personal harm - At the time I didn't see it for what it was but now I look back and see that I was showing strength of character, courage to be different, and acceptance of the true man I was despite the surroundings in which I operated and the influences of those around me.

It wasn't easy and I was ridiculed for it, initially, then noticed it began to wear off on others meaning people around me took my lead - It was cool to watch. Of course not all did however right about now I'm pleased I found the fortitude to hold to my values because I don't carry the same regrets others are still dealing with later in life.

The Viking quote I've chosen this week tells me to follow my own moral compass when those around me act in a manner that doesn't align with it. This, despite the fact it may set me apart from others, make me seem different and cause isolation or ridicule.

People are entitled to their opinions of me, you included, and their perception will be their reality just probably not the reality. I live in a world with other people and have to make an attempt to fit in however my conscience is my own and I must feel comfortable in myself and my behaviour before I can be comfortable with others - And so I'm happy to follow my own moral compass despite it sometimes moving against the flow.

Coincidentally I read a post today by @jaynie which, whilst not exactly in line with my text and quote above, runs close; it's a good post based around a recent scenario that is still unfolding and worth a read. here.

Now it's your turn...What do you think about the quote above and have you any real-world scenarios in which you've held to it.


Edda

A collection of poems based around Norse legends held within two Icelandic books of the 13th-century called the Poetic Edda and Prose Edda. Much of the understanding around Scandinavian mythology derives from them.

Saga

A story focused on Norse, Icelandic and Viking history, folklore and heroic achievement - Mostly recorded around the 12th and 13th century.

Spoken not written

Vikings were much more than violent raiders who revelled in battle and conquest. They had a culture rich in story-telling and poetry also; The Viking poet was one of the most respected in society and in the mead-halls of the Viking world they told stories of conquest, the gods, heroes, lovers and history in general. Sagas and Edda's were also passed from father to son and mother to daughter - The collective history of the Viking people passed by word of mouth, not written and recorded.

They had runes and glyphs however these were reserved for ceremonial purposes - They didn't write their history, they told it through the Edda's and Sagas.


Quote power

Quotes are just words but the words form the collective wisdom of those who came before us and a wise person will seek it, determine how it may relate to them, and embrace it.

Skol.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency