Hive cultural exchange program

A few weeks ago I made a comment referring to photographs a hiver had taken and how great they would look in a calendar; It was an innocent comment, nothing outside of the ordinary for me, but something extraordinary resulted from it. Here's the story.


The hiver is @sjarvie5, otherwise known as Sara; A nature-lover, photographer, gardener and all round champ of hive. She's also a bit of a traveller and adventure-seeker. Sara hails from Mesa, Arizona USA which is a very long way from where I live here in Adelaide, South Australia but we connected.

So...How does something extraordinary occur between two people situated so far away from each other?

Sara responded to my comment with a thank you and said she thought it was a good idea, the calendar and, what's more, decided to make one, and send it to me!...In Australia y'all.

Of course I was really pleased with that, not just because I'd inspired her creativity but because I think it was a really community-oriented thing to do...It was, quite simply, a very nice gesture.

Today I found a big yellow envelope with United States Postal Service stickers all over it and saw right away it was from Arizona, USA. What goodies had arrived for the G-dog? Clearly more than a calendar as it was not a flat parcel...Ok, what has Sara gone and sent me, I thought with some excitement.

Below you can see the contents...Oreo's, An apple pie bar, Reese's and Starburst candy, Nutter Butter cookies (peanut butter sandwich cookies) and Lego...Does this girl know me or what! Actually nope, we're complete strangers...But she nailed it! Lego y'all!

Of course you can also see the 2021 calendar she made using her own pictures. It's very professional looking and the images are beautiful! I will hang it in my home office with great pride.

Sara also put a nice little greeting card in there, also home made by the looks of it, with a little message to Faith and I. Classy Sara, classy.

Thank you so much for your generous and very cool gesture Sara, it will be repaid in kind, although it's doubtful anything will make it to you before Christmas - Thanks for nothing pandemic. I will reciprocate in kind though and will draw some real enjoyment out of putting it together...No, I'm not sending you a live koala...Or am I? 😆

Faith is still at work right now, but when she comes in I'll show her everything and we'll have a try of the foods...The Lego is all mine though! 😂 (You know me and Lego right y'all?)


A year or so ago I sent five packages like this around the world: Two to Florida USA, and one each to Romania, Germany and the UK. They contained the truly Aussie Vegemite and some other Australian stuff.

I simply did a post asking who would like something and five users put their hands up; Amongst them @krazzytrukker, @balticbadger and @ginnyannette; The other two have disappeared.

It was such a cool thing and I enjoyed it a lot; Two of those have reciprocated sending me things quite out of the blue and certainly unasked for. Also, a few weeks ago @hidave received a package from me which you can read about here. Dave is in America too, but lived here in Australia for a time and was missing a couple of items he can't get in the States...So G-dog hooked him up!

I've been expecting Sara's package for a little while and have been thinking about what to send back...I'll not say here so she can have a little expectation when it arrives...Maybe that live koala bear I mentioned above though?

Hive Cultural Exchange Program

It seems the Hive Cultural Exchange Program is alive and well...I know Sara has sent things to others and has received things also...So, maybe it'll become a thing huh?

I'm starting to warm to the idea of sending a few people some stuff again...Hive people I mean.

I'm not sure how I'll get it done, what shape or form it will take on, but I sort of like the idea of selecting a few hivers and sending them something from Australia. Of course, it would require a legitimate name and address to pass between us so I'm not sure how some will feel about it. I'll think on it some more...But was wondering what y'all think of that idea?

Let me know what you think of my little idea as mentioned above, cool idea or stupid?

Well, that's about it...Thank you once again @sjarvie5 and to those who don't know or follow her please go and check out her posts...Also, if you want to see some of her photographic work take a look at her photographic site. The photos are great and it'll give you a good idea of what she's all about...Especially the Envision the World gallery.

And remember...We might be spread all over the world, but it's all one world, and we're all connected. We don't need to be complete strangers.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
48 Comments
Ecency