HIVE CREATIVE CONTEST: The Golden Chain of my Happiness

The basic premise of creating a “happiness” mantra was so utterly “in the flow” or the Tao of my work today, that I had to go back and make certain that I had the dates correct for the contest!. Meaning, “was I on the right week?!”. I should know better by now to question the validity of a Universe conspiring with us, rather than against us.

Earlier this morning I uploaded a short video to my clients titled “30 Seconds of Peace”. I stepped into my garden and relished the gentleness of the moment, so I had to share. It was the result of opening my email and finding far too many negative commentaries about fires, death and COVID related madness. I don’t know about you, but the “Woe Factor” seemed to have been kicked into high gear. Maybe it’s the fires here on this side of the USA. The smoke from Eastern Washington found its way across the state and we woke up to the smell and haze of dread.

30 Seconds of Peace from Sarah Nash on Vimeo.

x

The mission statement behind my life’s work at The White Light Express is The Power of Positive Focused Intention, but even I need to be reminded from time to time. I get grumbly too. I start whining and moaning about how hard life is and then I step into one of my personal “stop groaning” traps if I can’t step into my garden. I set them all over my house. For example, I have a furry mustache glued to the mirror by the front door. It’s a litmus test of sorts for new guests, but even I forget it’s there. This morning I caught myself laughing with it. It all began with my daughter’s 28 birthday. We had fake tattoos and mustaches for all. When I was done with mine, I pressed it onto the mirror and there it stays. I’ve thought of removing it from time to time, it’s so silly, but I can’t bring myself to follow through. The pros far outweigh the cons of having swirly fur on my mirror.

x

So, what does one do when one is not at home but stuck in traffic and late for whatever it is that one is late for? Wait, let’s step it up a notch for the sake of the conversation: what does one do when the fecal matter is hitting the whirling apparatus and all of Hades has broken forth? Well, first, run.

Get out of the way of whatever it is heading at you ─ and provided it’s not a tornado or Godzilla ─ chances are surprisingly good you’re going to survive. Honestly, very few people ever manage to repeat a happiness mantra when in survival mode, so it’s not entirely applicable for those moments where every second counts. How about the moments after?

Yeah, baby. Now we’re back in traffic without tornadoes or Godzilla bearing down. You’re late. There’s all kinds of reasons you’re late, but it doesn’t matter. Now what?

“This too, is just another link in the Golden Chain of my Happiness.”

Years ago, when I was done studying Buddhism, and thought I knew everything a friend said that very mantra to me when I was in a critical moment. She said that it was as old as the Buddhist philosophy when I asked where it came from. She said, “Buddha’s Golden Chain Prayer – you’ve never heard of it?”

Of course, I’d heard of it, but not quite in that manner. She laughed with me and reminded me that there’s always more to learn behind all the prayers and mantras. She said that her teacher had given her that mantra to remind her of the Golden Chain we all belong to and belong with, especially in moments of bitterness or anger.

So I do use it often, and while it does not always bring me to the doorstep of happiness, it does bring a sense of peace which eventually does lead to that place where I am feeling less stressed and ready to be happy.

Thank you for reading, and allowing this be a part of your Golden Chain of Happiness today!

Golden Chain Prayer
We are a link in Amida's golden chain of love that stretches around the world, we will keep our link bright and strong.
We will be kind and gentle to every living thing and protect all who are weaker than ourselves.
We will think pure and beautiful thoughts, say pure and beautiful words, and do pure and beautiful deeds.
May every link in Amida's chain of love be bright and strong, and may we all attain perfect peace.

line.png

tink sig.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency