A Good Reason To Grow Orchids

Hello Orchid Lovers. Been a while since I posted here. I was always on the lookout for post-worthy materials, believe me, and this opportunity arose when three weeks ago my daughter sent me some photos of her orchids that had just started to bloom.

received_559836162050921.jpeg

received_503977460848298.jpeg

The other day, she updated me with recent photos of the same orchid plant now in full bloom.

received_909185136296189.jpeg

These, according to her are Phalaenopsis or moth orchids because of the shape of it's bloom which resembles a moth.

received_349254173377592.jpeg

She also has another moth orchid plant with white flowers that are all in bloom now. See photos below.

received_251311919777274.jpeg

received_785109012152588.jpeg

Now I see why friends like @bdmillergallery and @ewkaw and @silversaver888 are so much in to orchids. They really look extraordinarily lovely. And, apparently, they're not that difficult to take care of. My daughter can attest to that. She says they're not high maintenance plants. Phalaenopsis orchids are one of the easiest varieties of orchids to grow as a houseplant. They are often called the beginner orchids due to their easy going nature, or the moth orchid due to the shape of its blooms. Just bright, indirect sunlight, watering once every 2 weeks, a humid atmosphere with average home temperature and they're good to go. This could be the start of my orchid life!

Thanks to my daughter who provided me with not only the photos but the motivation to start with orchids, I will be off soon to buy me my first plant. A beginner orchid of course and we'll see where that will lead to.

That's it for this post. Thanks for dropping in. See you again and meanwhile, please keep safe. A blessed day to all of you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency