Is There A Right Time To Get Angry?

0001-10857420435_20211026_202230_0000.png

Every day we have plenty of opportunities to get angry, stressed or offended. But what you're doing when you indulge these negative emotions is giving something outside yourself power over your happiness. You can choose to not let little things upset you.

  • Joel Osteen

In the world we live in today, it's difficult to stay quiet. Environment plays a big role in shaping any human behaviour, An incident happened earlier this month that has weighed me down as I let the anger part of me out. Some might argue that I could have avoided the scenario but I will finally let my thoughts out in this post. I didn't initially plan to write about this but I was inspired by a friend to vent my thoughts and I hope my thoughts process is understood.


I live alone in a compound filled with other tenants, I stay in my one-room apartment minding my business and going about my bachelor's life. My routines are practically simple and engaging with my neighbours once in a while is included.
Before the day of the incident, I usually hear loud cries from a child, about 9 years old beaten by his mother very early. The cry is usually a daily something as sometimes it rings before my 7 am morning alarm(I wake up late). I always felt like asking what the problem was, as I know the kid to be a good boy. I frequently play games with the boy and I also promised to coach him on how to play chess(which obviously might not happen again).


I woke up that fateful day by 6 am as I wanted to start an early morning exercise routine(which again ended abruptly), my compound is large and I thought jogging around would be cool for a start. Just 20mins in, I saw the young boy run out of the house straight to me and say the words "brother, help me" and I asked what happened? And his words were

My mummy is going to beat me because I don't know how to pray.


As he was talking, the mother came out and shouted his name telling him to come around. she held a belt ready to weep the child when I interrupted very calmly, and asked what the issue was. She just said it's none of my business, I now inquired to confirm if what the boy told me was true by asking her. Are you beating your child because he doesn't know how to pray? Then she immediately replied that she doesn't mind killing him, that he is a disgrace to her family, that he doesn't know the Bible and can't even utter 10 lines of prayer.
Immediately I got very angry because I know how often and loud this boy was being beaten everyday, I said some bad words to her straight away and I couldn't stop, she also kept yelling back at me and in few minutes the whole compound was awake. I wish I said more and at the same time I felt a different person while I was angry.


I am a Christian and I believe in God, but I hate violence due to religion, in my country religion is by birth not by choice. I was told to apologise which its been two weeks and I haven't because deep down I feel right. Good thing is that since then I haven't heard the boy cry loud again but rumours have it that he is being treated badly in other areas.

Was I Right To Be Angry?,Should I Apologize?

Please feel free to let me know what you think

Thanks For Your Attention.

Written by @Samostically

Some Of My Free thoughts Writings You might Like

A Glimmer Of Hope

Midnight Snack 6/10/2021: Are Humans Fundamentally Good or Bad?

You can Also Reach me on;

Twitter: Samostically
Discord: Samostically#8674

Image used in this article was designed using canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency